We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stylish Hotel; Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District
Ranked #6 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a stay at Hotel ZaZa Houston, where we were attending an event at Rice University. As it turned out, ZaZa was perfectly located for us, being less than a mile from the university. The hotel is located in a great neighborhood (known as the Museum District) and the Museum of Fine Arts is right across the street from the hotel.

The hotel is stylishly decorated and very nicely appointed. Our room (balcony double) was large and well maintained. There is a beautiful pool area on the second floor which has cabanas, bar and food service, and ample seating areas for relaxing and socializing aside from the standard pool loungers. The spa is also located on this floor of the Hotel, but I cannot comment on the services there as I could not get an available appointment that fit into our schedule.

The food at the Monarch (the hotel restaurant) was very good, however our waiter at dinner was the only hotel employee we came across with a sub-par, dismissive attitude. We ordered room service breakfast twice. The first time the meal was made and delivered perfectly to our specifications. The second breakfast was not up to par, but every reasonable effort was made to correct the issues promptly. When I brought the errors to the attention of management we were issued a credit for the meal without hesitation.

Aside from the aforementioned surly waiter, all ZaZa staff members were extremely welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Main Street side of the hotel can get a bit noisy if there is an event going on at the...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,689)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,359 - 1,365 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

If nothing else, the bed was superb. Yes, it was a beautiful hotel, yes, interesting and challenging art on some of the floors, yes, some of my work colleagues wished they stayed on some floors since the photography of sumptuous young ladies greeted you when you stepped out of the elevator...the "coolness" factor was there. I enjoyed the tasteful decor in the rooms, the walk in robe, comfy bathroom, big desk chair....but the bed for me was the best, especially on return from a hard day at the office or shopping. The shuttle bus was handy too. I only ate breakfast once and like everything in Texas it was huge. I did go in the pool and hung out on the comfy poolside bed - also huge...and comfy. A great retreat from it all. Well worth it for business.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank SDCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Hotel ZAZA is very energized and unique. In the heart of the Museum District, very close to Downtown, 10 minutes from the Galleria, a stones throw from the incredible Texas Medical complex , and surrounded by very nice neighborhoods with unique shopping and restaurants, it is a perfect location if you are in town for business and pleasure.

The style is very seductive, well thought out, energized, high quality furnishings, linens, uniformed and very well trained staff. You really feel good and are immersed in the fun side of life. If you are engaged in life and all it has to offer this is a great place to be when in town to discover the best of Houston.

Wonderful outdoor pool and courtyard, first rate spa, great bar and small restaurant, to very efficient valet parking, its hard to find any fault.

Room Tip: I have stayed there 8 times and have not had a bad room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill34543501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Wow! Thank you for the awesome feedback! I am happy to read that you find the ZaZa Houston energetic and first class. The hotel is always bubbling with new concepts! All in all, I would love to know when your travels return you to the Houston area, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

the check in was good - the room smells like mold and everything is really dark. Blacks and tan. The room service menu is really limited, and not what I would consider very healthy. really disappointing. exercise room is nice and open 24 hours, staff is very friendly. So - for the price there are better options. The next issue was the smell of mold and dampness in the hotel - this is April, so wonder what it will be like in August.

Room Tip: not sure where to go from here, based upon the above comments.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

I apologize for the issues that you encountered at the hotel. It is beyond disappointing to read about the issues during your stay. Our staff works hard to create a great experience for our guests. I am following up with the management team on how we can prevent these issues and improve. At your earliest convenience, please contact our Director of Operations, Ian Bush. He would like to receive more information, so we can correct the issues that you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed in a balcony king room. My only complaint was the AC seemed a bit weak. The room bad a humid feel with a bit of a musty odor. Everything else seemed really nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanfromD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

You actually feel like the customer here. Staff is excellent. If you are doing business at the Medical Center in Houston, this is the best place to stay. Never written a review in my life, but this place is awesome. I travel a lot and do not get points here, but it is well worth it. I can't emphasize enough how friendly the entire staff is. Just a cool place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Best Hotel Ever! LOVE IT! I am so happy you find the ZaZa Houston staff friendly and enjoy your visits at the hotel. Please let me know when your travels return you to Houston, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I had my night event at the Ultimate Ransom - Zaza Hotel, Houston, Texas last March 22, 2012 at 6:30 PM. The event was very successful partly due to the well coordinated effort of Mr. Kleibert Estrada. The food was delicious. The whole set up was so awesome. The room was not only sophiscated but at the same time had that cozy feeling. Juan, the maitre'd was so professional and accommodating. The guests were so pleased with the presentation. I will definitely have my event at Zaza Hotel next year.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for Mr. Kleibert Estrada.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csmitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 517 in Houston
813 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#25 of 517 in Houston
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District

Address: 5701 Main St, Houston, TX 77005-1824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Houston
#3 Family Hotel in Houston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $251 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel including Monarch Bistro, pool, fitness center, and ZaSpa with a pet-friendly policy located in Museum District Houston. Known for sophisticated service and modern interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zaza Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing