We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Rice University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District
Ranked #6 of 516 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenient to Rice University”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I visited Rice University to recruit at the career fair. The hotel was a 10 minute walk to the central campus. The decor was very modern and the room was comfortable and clean. I didn't get a chance to check out the pool but my colleagues who stayed there as well said it was very nice. I had a little trouble finding a cup of coffee at 6:30 am, but the restaurant staff very helpfully fetched me a cup. The price was reasonable, but I wasn't happy about spending $23 a night for valet parking. If I went again I would look for a cheaper off-site parking option.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    333
    100
    62
    35
See reviews for
246
571
100
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We ventured into Houston due to a missed flight connection and chose Zaza for the boutique quality and proximity to the airport (still at $50 cab ride away however). We didn't stay for longer than a night, but were able to explore the property and restaurant in the short time we were there.

The decor of both the hotel areas and room were dark, sexy and fun. The bed in our petit queen was definitely a double bed, very small and measly. That said, the room was clean and comfortable and still retained some of the fun and sexy elements seen throughout the other areas of the hotel... perfectly fine for a quick overnight stay. The pillows were also quite luxurious, as were the bathrobes.

The pool left much to be desired, and the property from the outside was quite dire looking. That said, the gym was an impressive size and the restaurant dinner we had there was quite delicious (we ordered beef).

The biggest disappointment was the service. The woman at check in was not very welcoming and seemed to question the rate we received when we provided her the booking information and confirmation number. I would even venture to say she was a bit argumentative about the booking rate. We didn't receive a warm and welcoming vibe from her at all.

The other failure of this place came from the concierge on duty that night. We asked him to make a reservation for dinner at a specific restaurant and call the hotel shuttle (which is complimentary) for a specific time and that we would come back down shortly to be picked up. 15 minutes later, we came back down and sat for a while, chatted with him a bit, and then another 15 minutes after we had been waiting in the lobby he then tells us that the restaurant is closed and we can't eat there. How inept do you have to be not to mention this when we first come down? Instead he let us wait 15 minutes and then tells us? He wasn't very knowledgeable about other options and really he turned out to be completely useless. Very disappointing.

Service was pretty poor, room was fine. I reckon this is a good place to stay for a business trip, but not for a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islabery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel was wonderful, staff helpful, the pool was great for relaxing and having a few cocktails.
One bad point, there is a strange smell in the lobby of the hotel.
Valet was quick and attentive, hotel bar is excellent and food is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcewen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We celebrated our daughter's 16th birthday at ZaZa's Conspiracy Room. From Kristina (Senior Manager) to Sergio and the rest of the Catering and Banquet staff, our experience was fabulous. My daughter fell in love with the decor from the moment we walked into the hotel and had our first walk-through of the Conspiracy room; and was thrilled to know of the red carpet experience she would enjoy on her special night. Needless to say, her friends also loved the ambience, the great food and the entire hotel experience.
The general hotel staff were equally as friendly and accommodating. We spent the night at ZaZa's after the birthday party, and, the reviews were right: stylish and modern rooms with beds that swallow you up while you zzzzzzzaaazzzzaaa into the abyss of sleep heaven.
If you are looking for a trendy, yet sophisicated, all inclusive venue downtown Houston for a birthday party, rehearsal dinner or a reception for 75 people or less, I definitely recommend Hotel ZaZa's Conspiracy Room.
Thank you Kristina, Sergio, Hector and the entire Banquet and Catering staff for helping my daughter enjoy a wonderful and memorial night!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverlake
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

ZaZa was formerly the Warwick a grand old place. Due to this rooms are smallish but nicely done. Our room overlooked the pool; it was a nice view - see if you can request one when you book. We were there for a memorial service and ZaZa is there for nightlife. It was full of weddings. Actually nice to be around a happy atmosphere. They ran out of cream on our floor early on in the free coffee service and never replenished. The other thing is it would be nice if they had a second bar in the evening so that guests that don't want to be at the Monarch night club would have an option.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoofSilverlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotel ZaZa is in the heart of Houston's Museum District. The location is AMAZING, parking on the street is scarce, so be prepared to valet. The valet service was also AMAZING - quick and efficient - very pleasant staff. It offers a "hip" nightlife scene and a rocking "loud" pool scene - we were on the 5th floor and an afternoon nap was not an option - the room was clean huge and very trendy. The hotel is also dog friendly - a plus. Walking fido in the a.m. around Hermann Park was a great treat. For the young (and not so young), fit and fashionable - this is a place to see, stay and be seen. Weddings and receptions were ongoing the entire weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoxhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Zaza Hotel, Houston, Texas. The place is so cozy and the staff are super friendly. The place makes you feel close to home. Very clean. The decor is so classy. Very presentable and will highly recommend to family and freinds.

Room Tip: Try to see if they have your company discounted rate. Most of the time, it also applies to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 516 in Houston
811 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 516 in Houston
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#25 of 516 in Houston
1,919 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District

Property: Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District
Address: 5701 Main St, Houston, TX 77005-1824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Houston
#3 Family Hotel in Houston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel including Monarch Bistro, pool, fitness center, and ZaSpa with a pet-friendly policy located in Museum District Houston. Known for sophisticated service and modern interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zaza Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing