We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow! Service, service, service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Granduca Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Granduca Houston
Ranked #2 of 500 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow! Service, service, service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Rarely does one find a hotel with this level of SERVICE!
From the reservation process, to the on property staff, this is a GEM for those that want to feel the full force of what "service" means. I would not be surprised if the staff is trained by the Butler's Guild.
Accommodations are not "rooms", more accurately I'd call them real estate!
Huge apartment-style suites with full kitchen in the nicest part of the Galleria area. Dinner in the Library is intimate and relaxing, piano music from restaurant can be heard nearby. Very nice.
I was impressed, I think anyone would be. KUDOS to Granduca!

Room Tip: I believe most of the rooms are suites, it truly is a very large apartment with more than enough spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience at Hotel Granduca. Here at Hotel Granduca we strive to exceed each guest's expectations, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Your feedback is invaluable in helping us continue to provide the very best customer experience available anywhere. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Granduca very soon!

Kind regards
Anna W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    91
    22
    20
    21
See reviews for
98
230
34
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Exquisite style, extremely polite
people, amazing food at Cavour restaurant,impeccable service ( it includes complimentary lifts into a 3-mile radious). An Italian oasis - with incredibly spacious suites- in Texas! There is absolutely no doubt that La Granduca is the best hotel in Houston!
I love the pool and I remain speechless!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terasti0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Granduca.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our attentive staff, beautiful environment, and excellent fine dining.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Granduca very soon!


Kind regards,

Anna W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I got a decent price online, and the hotel is quiet, clean, and has nice tubs, which I always appreciate. The decor is bland...very beige for what is supposed to be a high end hotel. For a hotel that is trying to seem Italian and for the size of the room service bill, I would have expected better food. The heirloom tomatoes on my expensive salad were two cherry tomato halves, not even two cherry tomatoes halved. The pizza had a soggy crust. The gelato was bland. It would have been a trek to go someplace else before my morning cab so I got a bagel with salmon and cream cheese, hard to ruin, right? Wrong! There was too much salmon while the egg was three wafer thin slices of a quail's egg and the cream cheese was the size of a cheap pat of butter...not enough for even a quarter of a bagel. For the price, stay some place that feels updated, has things to do nearby, and a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithGayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Granduca.

Here at Hotel Granduca we take great pride in exceeding each guest's expectations, and we are sorry that we fell short during your visit. Rest assured that we value your input and will take your comments into account as we strive to provide the very best customer service, hospitality and dining experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Granduca and to provide you with a memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Anna W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I am a very private person but felt the need to share. My daughter and I stayed here last year. It was her favorite trip...of all the places we visited. The staff recognized her health status as being grave....It was one of the last pleasure trips that she was able to make. We were immediately up-graded to a larger suite. Everyone was very kind without being over-diligent. She very much wanted to have a normal experience.

I have just received a beautiful bouquet of flowers with a very special card signed in person by staff which included a very generous donation to the Houston SPCA to honor the memory of my daughter. There are no words to express my gratitude.

As amazing as our visit originally was....this act of kindness puts this Hotel in a class above all others! The beauty of the Hotel which is marvelous does not compare to the awesome staff serving and caring for your every need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Granduca.
We are honored that you chose to spend such precious time with us. We truly appreciate the opportunity to be or service and comfort.

Here at Hotel Granduca, we work hard to not only provide outstanding customer service, but to create a true sense of home-away-from home.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Granduca and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Anna W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My daughter chose the Granduca for her wedding celebration. Incredible experience, friendly and very helpful staff, beautiful surroundings and a Sunday brunch that has to be seen to be believed
Very, very satisfied and would highly recommend.

The suites are especially nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCMcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Granduca. Here at Hotel Granduca, we take great pride in exceeding each guest's expectations and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Granduca soon.

Kind regards

Anna W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We attempted to stay here last weekend for a girls night and from the moment we walked in, the staff was not receptive us. Let me preface this by saying we are all in our 30s and so it was not like it was a crazy bunch of 20 year old college students trying to destroy the hotel! We had planned the entire weekend because of how how beautiful the hotel and pool were, and had spoken with the concierge and front desk multiple times. The fact that in all of her planning and discussing the weekend and accommodations, the "2 person per room minimum is fully enforced" never came up. No one really expects two double bed room to be for two people only. But know that it is enforced here. The hotel was beautiful, but everyone was very stuffy. If you are looking for a place to let loose and enjoy anything above a whisper, this place is not the place for you. You cannot bring any outside drink or food to the pool (and it is enforced) and the drinks by the pool are very expensive. The nicest thing they did for us was to refund us the money when we canceled our rooms. Fortunately Hotel ZaZa was more accommodating and ended up being the better choice for our fun weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cepw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Grace G, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your visit last weekend. We hope you will have a wonderful summer and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Granduca Hotel exceeded my expectations. I was in Houston for business for a couple of days and based my reservation on the trip advisor ratings. I was pleasently suprised at the quality and size of the suite and the service level of the staff. We spent time in the bar area and outside by the pool. We enjoied the wine bar accross the street and the location for our business needs was excellent. Overall I would recommend the hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morty1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Grace G, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are so delighted you enjoyed the Granduca quality and attention to details as well our incredible staff at the bar and pool.

We hope you will plan to return again for your next business trip to Houston.

Very Sincerely

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#3 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granduca Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granduca Houston

Property: Hotel Granduca Houston
Address: 1080 Uptown Park Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#31 Business Hotel in Houston
#65 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Granduca Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located in one of Houston’s most exclusive neighborhoods, Hotel Granduca Houston blends Italian sophistication with modern, personalized amenities, offering travelers a luxurious escape in one of the county’s most dynamic cities. Featuring 122 residential-style rooms and suites designed to evoke the grandeur of an Italian Palazzo, Hotel Granduca Houston boasts an award winning restaurant, Ristorante Cavour; an elegant ballroom, Sala Rialto; four state-of-the-art executive boardrooms; and an inviting Veranda and pool with adjacent fitness center. Hotel Granduca Houston and its sister property, Granduca Austin, are the only hotels in Texas to receive the Leading Hotels of the World distinction. Leading Hotels of the World is a private collection of independent, luxury hotels throughout the world. Hotel Granduca was conceived as part of Uptown Shopping Park, a European style outdoor shopping plaza, featuring fashionable shopping and restaurants, all adjacent to the hotel. For more a more comprehensive shopping, Hotel Granduca offers complimentary car services to the world acclaimed Houston Galleria in the hotel’s own Maserati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Granduca Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granduca Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing