We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service & Room were excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Granduca Houston
Ranked #4 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here one night for work and it was terrific. Yes, I agree with some other posters that maybe the decor in the common areas is a bit over-the-top-BIG-Texas meets faux-Tuscanny, but I'll let that slide as my room was pretty perfect. I had almost a full-sized kitchen and living room and then a separate bedroom. Large bathroom and closet. I could have easily stayed here for a very long time.
Room service (at least for breakfast) was excellent as well.
The only cons are the location, that while central, is near a somewhat busy road. Opening the little door on my porch wasn't nearly as pleasant as I'd hoped due to all the noise. Alas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Grace G, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Happy

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay at Granduca. We are so delighted you enjoyed all that we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 848 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

As others have written, this is a great hotel. The service accross the board was very prompt and friendly. The rooms are very large, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Although it was a bit too chilly to use the pool, the pool area was beaitiful and the bar service by the pool was great as well. The only negative (and I recognize I am really nitpicking) is that the bath towels are small and uncomfortable -- at a hotel of this caliber, I expect large and luxurious towels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Grace G, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your very nice comments. We appreciate your candor - we strive to exceed all of our guests expectations upon each return.

See you again very soon.

Best regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This has to be one of the top hotels in the United States. Also one of the least known. Very few people know about it! I tell friends in Houston I was there, and they ask where it is. The rooms are fabulous! The staff is top notch, from the front desk, bell staff, to valet service. When I went to check out, they greeted me by name - after one night! The pool area is so private and beautiful. We didn't eat dinner at the restaurant, it is very expensive ($50 entrees). But, no fear, there are several excellent restaurants within walking distance that are reasonable. We did have the Sunday brunch at the hotel. Again, fabulous! It was a buffet with unlimited champagne, bellinis, and mimosas. The buffet had sushi, King Crab legs, oysters on the half shell, fresh custom made omelets, pasta, salads, huge deserts, smoked salmon, and on and on. I could have stay there 3 hours! If you can afford it, THIS is the place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Get above the second floor to get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapingHeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Grace G, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your weekend experience with us. Granduca is a jewel in the center of our great city. Brunch is really a must for all. I hope next time you can plan to arrive for Aperitivo, our Italian Happy Hour - which is each Thursday, 5-8. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Best regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We loved this special high end boutique hotel. Great location near many shops, restaurants and the Galleria. 5 Star service at every turn. Pricey but worth it. Excellent suites with all the finest amenities. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Grace G, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay at Granduca. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Sincerely
Mary Grace Gray
Hotel Granduca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I travel to Houston several times a year. We typically stay at the Houstonian but decided to try the Granduca on the suggestion of friends. We were very impressed. We had a suite and it was great. Very spacious. We weren't in the room long enough to take advantage of the kitchen area but nice to know it was there for the future.

The room was very clean. The bedroom was huge and the bathroom was great. Very large and well lit.

My husbands company is based in Houston and they have clients that come in from all over the country. He commented that he will definitely have them stay here in the future and we will more than likely make this our new "go to" for our Houston visits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMANDA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Grace G, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for being our guest at Granduca and for sharing your experience with us. It is great to know you enjoyed our suites and all that we have to offer - especially our incredible team of ready professionals.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Very Sincerely

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

One of the prettiest hotels and most luscious and comfortable rooms I have stayed in a long time. The hotel makes you feel like you are in Italy with all the amenities and service Americans are accustomed to when staying at one of the Leading Hotels of the World. Great service, great food...can't say enough about it - great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilynwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Grace G, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your experience with us. It is always lovely to hear such nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Best Regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a faux rural Tuscan hotel, dark and 'heavy' furnishing with suits of armour in various corners and the decor just doesn't do it for me I'm afraid. I had a suite, which was massive and if you're staying for a week or more, it would probably work really well but more than I needed for two nights.

There's nothing wrong with the hotel - it's clean, staff are efficient and friendly, everything works but its just not particularly memorable. I didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked busy, which is normally a good sign - the bar was a bit small, so my group of 10 went across the road to a sports bar instead.

Anyone who's organizing a meeting here; as someone who does this all the time, it drives me insane why hotels that do this on a regular basis don't have ceiling mounted projectors. It may sound trivial to those who don't have to use them but it's a never ending irritation. And the large room we were using had really poor sight lines and in keeping with the rest of the hotel was pretty gloomy (and we had windows).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mersonfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Grace G, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We always take our guests concerns and learn from them. We hope you will return to enjoy all that Granduca has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon as this is the best time to visit our great city.

Very Sincerely
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 518 in Houston
502 reviews
Great Uptown
The St. Regis Houston
The St. Regis Houston
#30 of 518 in Houston
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granduca Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granduca Houston

Address: 1080 Uptown Park Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#31 Business Hotel in Houston
#52 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $234 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Granduca Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located in one of Houston’s most exclusive neighborhoods, Hotel Granduca Houston blends Italian sophistication with modern, personalized amenities, offering travelers a luxurious escape in one of the county’s most dynamic cities. Featuring 122 residential-style rooms and suites designed to evoke the grandeur of an Italian Palazzo, Hotel Granduca Houston boasts an award winning restaurant, Ristorante Cavour for upscale dining; Il Giardino for casual outdoor dining; an elegant ballroom, Salone Rialto; four state-of-the-art executive boardrooms; and an inviting Veranda and pool with adjacent fitness center. Hotel Granduca Houston and its sister property, Granduca Austin, are the only hotels in Texas to receive the Leading Hotels of the World distinction. Leading Hotels of the World is a private collection of independent, luxury hotels throughout the world. Hotel Granduca was conceived as part of Uptown Shopping Park, a European style outdoor shopping plaza, featuring fashionable shopping and restaurants, all adjacent to the hotel. For more a more comprehensive shopping, Hotel Granduca offers complimentary car services to the world acclaimed Houston Galleria and the new River Oaks Shopping Center in the hotel’s own Maserati. Designer boutiques and shops for men and women, fine-dining restaurants, cafes and entertainment and High-Fashion Luxury Shopping in Houston are all within minutes of Hotel Granduca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granduca Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granduca Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing