We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Protect your Credit Cards!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Granduca Houston
Ranked #2 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Protect your Credit Cards!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The stay was fine, it's overpriced but who cares. The part of my stay that ruined my trip was that they charged both of our credit cards, the one used at booking as well as the one given for incidentals and then chasing them down to fix it was a two week long nightmare as they hardly returned my calls and were never available.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Granduca. We are very sorry you were not pleased with the attention to detail regarding billing. We regret this occurance marred your experience and we look forward to your return to make certain all will be well for your future stay with us.

Best regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    107
    27
    22
    21
See reviews for
115
276
42
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Simply the best hotel in Houston. My wife and I travel all over the world. This is our favorite hotel. Lobby is elegant with many comfortable seating areas. The rooms are large and well appointed. The food is excellent. The location the best in Houston. It's just a great please to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience at Granduca with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed Ristorante Cavour as well as our guest rooms and our great staff. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Very Sincerely

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location, nicely proportioned rooms, secure setting. Restaurant good although service sometimes slow. Lots of good nearby restaurants. Attractive outdoor patio and pool area. Well staffed front door and desk. Dog-friendly, which is terrific. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleyset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are so delighted you enjoyed all that Granduca has to offer. We do love pets too! Our guests and their pets are always happy to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Very SIncerely
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A true gem hidden in the city of Houston. Had a great time here in the end of January. Front staff and doormen were polite and very attentive. Room was spacious and clean. Traveled with our two small children and were concerned at first that this would not be "kid friendly", but it was. Pool area was beautiful, wish I would of brought my bathing suit! Lobby has a piano which is played nightly by a wonderful pianist. Will stay again for sure. *one gripe, need softer towels!*

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool/courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ1X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay at Granduca. We are so happy you had a wonderful family experience in our great city! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Very Sincerely

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is such a nice hotel, small and beautifully decorated in a great location across the street from nice restaurants, spas and shops. They go the extra mile with doormen always ready to help with luggage, directions or advice on restaurants or driving directions. There's a small area off the main lobby equipped with coffee, water and fresh fruit; a really nice treat. The pool area is relaxing and beautiful. Rooms are suite-style with a kitchen (basic utensils, dishwasher, stove, refrigerator and sink) easy to stock what you need for a light breakfast or lunch. Living room has a couch, chair and TV. Bedroom is spacious with a dresser, desk (equipped with several plugs for cell phones, tablets, etc.) TV and chair. Closet is walk-in size and bathroom is also ample.

We would have rated them excellent; however, even after asking ahead two days in advance with the front desk re: checking out a day early and completing the check out process, we were charged for an extra day. When we called to request a refund we had to furnish invoices, credit card receipts and airline tickets to prove we didn't stay the extra night along with being asked to identify which employee we talked to re: early check out. It's unfortunate that guests have to provide proof to substantiate situations like these even when asking the right questions in advance. After several conversations and being connected to the manager (who apologized for the need to prove our early departure) the problem was resolved. We'll chalk it up to a customer service training opportunity for the front desk staff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank traveltoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I really appreciate your candid comments, we are very sorry for the inconvenience of your departure. We look forward to seeing you again soon. We are glad you enjoyed all that Granduca has to offer!

Very Sincerely

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed a number of times at this hotel, located ideally in Uptown Park area of Houston. It is a business hotel and not one I would take a partner to for any more than a couple of days. It is always very clean, well serviced and the staff our courteous and polite. The quality of the rooms, beds, blackouts and ACs is always very good and the pool area is nice. The gym is a little small and under equipped, none the less it does serve a purpose for a traveller. The food is not up to much based on my person experience generally compared to other restaurants and hotels I have used. It is good value as long as pre booked, last minute changes are ill advised as they seem consistently to double the rates if you try and extend. Book in advance though and cover your dates, cutting them short if needed works just fine. Overall, for major city hotels it is a great spot, many facilities available in the Uptown Park area, including the best wine bar in Houston, TTR!

Room Tip: Go on the top floor if at all possible, one of the downsides is noise from people above, it has 6 fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardUpshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding Granduca. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mary Grace Gray

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cph
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you want to flee away to a different world away from the daily hassles of real life - Hotel Granduca will be the place for you and your small pet dog.

However if you want genuine service, real american treat or a place where they dear the environment highly - don't go here. The cleaners leave all lights and radio turned on in your room - and when you ask the reception why this is necessary, they say that their customers like to feel welcome in their rooms - but they could see my point that it uses a lot of energy..

Staff hold the door for you (I learned to do that myself when I was a kid), people park you car, and up to 4 waiters serve you (and stumble upon each other) the breakfast with limited choices.

I'll never go there again - but I do recognise that some people find this place highly attractive and luxorious. Not me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miguel4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Granduca. I am so sorry you did not enjoy being with us; we are hoping you will have a great week!

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 510 in Houston
1,659 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 510 in Houston
1,465 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#26 of 510 in Houston
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granduca Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granduca Houston

Property: Hotel Granduca Houston
Address: 1080 Uptown Park Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#31 Business Hotel in Houston
#65 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Granduca Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located in one of Houston’s most exclusive neighborhoods, Hotel Granduca Houston blends Italian sophistication with modern, personalized amenities, offering travelers a luxurious escape in one of the county’s most dynamic cities. Featuring 122 residential-style rooms and suites designed to evoke the grandeur of an Italian Palazzo, Hotel Granduca Houston boasts an award winning restaurant, Ristorante Cavour for upscale dining; Il Giardino for casual outdoor dining; an elegant ballroom, Salone Rialto; four state-of-the-art executive boardrooms; and an inviting Veranda and pool with adjacent fitness center. Hotel Granduca Houston and its sister property, Granduca Austin, are the only hotels in Texas to receive the Leading Hotels of the World distinction. Leading Hotels of the World is a private collection of independent, luxury hotels throughout the world. Hotel Granduca was conceived as part of Uptown Shopping Park, a European style outdoor shopping plaza, featuring fashionable shopping and restaurants, all adjacent to the hotel. For more a more comprehensive shopping, Hotel Granduca offers complimentary car services to the world acclaimed Houston Galleria and the new River Oaks Shopping Center in the hotel’s own Maserati. Designer boutiques and shops for men and women, fine-dining restaurants, cafes and entertainment and High-Fashion Luxury Shopping in Houston are all within minutes of Hotel Granduca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granduca Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granduca Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing