We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Feel yourself like a gran duca" is their motto. They are up to it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Granduca Houston
Ranked #2 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Feel yourself like a gran duca" is their motto. They are up to it.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It is indeed a luxury hotel. It looks pricey for Houston but considering location, quality of accommodations, quality and abundance of service it is really inexpensive. It is great for a romantic get away as it was in my case.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbsugarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Please pardon my late response. We are delighted you enjoyed all that Granduca has to offer. Our hotel has become a destination for Houstonians to take a weekend getaway as you mentioned. We are here for you; we look forward to your next visit.
Plan to enjoy Sunday brunch soon as well as our acclaimed holiday brunches which are also a favorite of locals.

See you again soon.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Best regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    102
    25
    21
    21
See reviews for
107
251
36
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hotel Granduca is a beautiful 5 star luxury hotel in Houston that is one of “The Leading Hotels of the World”. It looks and feels like a large Italian Villa that was dropped into the middle of big city Houston – elegant and luxurious in every way. We stayed in the Granduca Suite which was absolutely perfect with a beautiful and spacious sitting room, well equipped kitchen, lovely and comfortable bedroom, walk in closet, and nice sized bathroom with top notch amenities. While there, we enjoyed an excellent dinner in the Restaurant Cavour. Service was outstanding for dinner and throughout our stay. Everyone was extremely friendly and over the top ready to provide assistance in any way possible. The patio area by the pool is lovely and is a perfect spot to enjoy a cocktail when the weather is nice. The indoor piano bar is also great and the live music in the evening makes it even more special. The location cannot be beat since it is within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in Uptown Park, and only a short drive away from the awesome Galleria shopping mall as well as Memorial Park and downtown Houston. This would be a perfect place to stay for anyone visiting the Houston area and wanting to sample some of the best this city has to offer. We live in Houston and were simply looking for a special place to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. We were thrilled to discover this elegant and romantic hotel. It is expensive, but well worth the price, and is a perfect place to celebrate a special event. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Happy Anniversary! We are so delighted you chose Granduca to enjoy your special anniversary.
We hope you will return again soon. Please join us for Sunday Brunch some weekend as it is a wonderful way to celebrate Sunday!

Very Sincerely
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I typically go to Houston several times per year on business. This time around, my usual hotel was booked, so I registered at the Granduca at the suggestion of a friend. I am usually hesitant to select a place that does not have a name that I recognize, but in this case, I am glad that I trusted my friend. The service was elegant without seeming snobby, the facilities were beautiful, and my suite was top-notch, well-appointed and clean as a whistle.

I had a little downtime on my last day, so I sat by the outdoor pool and did some work on my computer. Having finished, I then grabbed a glass of wine from the bar, went over to the billiards room, turned ESPN on the huge TV and shot pool for about an hour. While there, several staff members popped their heads into the room to make sure that I didn't need anything. I had numerous similarly pleasant exchanges with the bell staff, bar staff and cleaning staff while I was there. It's very rare to see such consistent, well-mannered behavior from a hotel staff.

The Granduca's convenience to nice restaurants and shops (particularly at Uptown Park) is a bonus, but really cannot be the feature reason for booking...after all, who wants to leave such a great place? By the way, if you decide to leave and you need to get someplace local like the Galleria, ask the staff if they will take you in the hotel car...much nicer than a cab!

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fricker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience at Granduca. We are thrilled you enjoyed all that Granduca has to offer. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel. This was my second time to stay here and it is my favorite hotel in Houston. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and loved how perfect the space was. The people working here could not be any friendlier or more helpful. Perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to know this was your second visit to Granduca. We hope you will plan to return again soon. Our Sunday Brunch is amazing, if you happen to be in the area for the weekend.

Best regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WORTH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had the ultimate pleasure of staying at Hotel Granduca on our 5th wedding anniversary. My company had a one night's stay in a suite as a prize at our holiday party, which I won. We are already planning to stay at this hotel in the future. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. The staff is very accommodating and extremely pleasant. They all go out of their way to make you feel very special.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouAnnWalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at Hotel Granduca. We are so delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Very Sincerely
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malakoff, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Life is too short to stay at cheap hotels, so when I needed to attend a one day legal seminar at the Galleria in Houston, I went to Trip Advisor and found that the Hotel Granduca was the best luxury hotel in that area. I then went to Priceline and Bidding Traveler.com and purchased my room through the "name your own price" feature.
The hotel has a very pleasing Tuscan decor and the service was excellent throughout my brief stay. Check-in was a breeze. Its right inside the front door. The entire staff was helpful and attentive and the hotel is pet friendly. The key card to my room operates the elevator by merely waiving it in front of the reader. This is a great feature because it keeps non-guests away from the rooms. The card also opens the door to your room the same way. No more wasting time in the hallway trying to figure out which way the card goes in the slot.
I had a 825 sq. ft. Granduca Suite which had a living room/kitchenette and a separate bedroom/bathroom. The walls are earth tone Venetian plaster and the ceilings are supported by rough hewn wooden beams. Very Tuscan! The kitchenette had a microwave, small fridge and dishwasher and was separated from the living room by a bar with sink. The living room was spacious with a loveseat and 2 chairs facing a flat screen TV and opening on to a Juliet balcony. The only drawback was the loveseat does fold out into a bed so it can not be used for sleeping except by small children.
The bedroom was large with a kingsize bed facing a small flat screen TV. The walk-in closet was huge and the bathroom was travertine and granite with old world style fixtures. Overall, I was very pleased with the size and appearance of the room.
The problems were few but not insignificant. First, although the bed was very comfortable at first, I woke up around 4 am and my back was hurting. I discovered that the bed was not firm enough and that my body had created a dent in the mattress. Fortunately, I had the bed to myself so I moved to another part and was eventually able to resume my slumber. In my experience at staying at 5-star hotels, I was unaccustomed to this. Second, I had trouble using the single cup Keurig coffee/tea maker the next morning. I finally discovered the wide, short coffee cups stored in the cabinets did not fit inside the Keurig, which is made for tall, narrow cups. The machine will not work unless a cup fits entirely inside the indention. I finally fooled the machine by placing my hand over the indention and the cup on top of my hand, but soon found to my dismay that the cup was too small to hold the hot beverage being dispensed, which proceeded to run all over the granite countertop. Obviously, no one at the hotel had taken the time to make sure that the coffee cups were compatible with the coffee maker.
Other than these minor inconveniences, I had a very enjoyable stay. Breakfast in Cavour was excellent and the service was impeccable. I would have preferred to dine alfresco on the patio but was discouraged from doing so by the maitre d', who advised that service would be very slow if I did.
Overall, the Hotel Granduca may be the best luxury hotel in Houston but I believe it falls a little short when compared with 5-star hotels. I would have to give it a solid 4 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k-myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry you encountered a few problems during your stay. It is our sincere quest to make certain your comments are addressed. We hope you will plan to visit us again soon.

Best regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We became acquainted with the hotel via the restaurant, Ristorante Cavour, which we love! But to stay at the hotel, is a luxious, mini-vacation in itself.The staff is exceptional, from the valet, to the front desk, restaurant team, etc. All seem to go out of their way to make you feel special, and to accommodate every need. The rooms are gorgeous and well-maintained (and quiet!). And we've consistently had great meals at Ristorante Cavour, including their recently expanded Sunday Brunch menu. Definitely, one of our favorite places to visit/enjoy a 'stay-cation'!

Room Tip: Suites are exceptional, with great amenities; and perfect for a romantic weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guest

We are so delighted you enjoyed Granduca and Sunday Brunch at Cavour. It will be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back soon. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

Best regards
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 504 in Houston
1,363 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 504 in Houston
1,617 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
#3 of 504 in Houston
964 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granduca Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granduca Houston

Property: Hotel Granduca Houston
Address: 1080 Uptown Park Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#31 Business Hotel in Houston
#65 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Granduca Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located in one of Houston’s most exclusive neighborhoods, Hotel Granduca Houston blends Italian sophistication with modern, personalized amenities, offering travelers a luxurious escape in one of the county’s most dynamic cities. Featuring 122 residential-style rooms and suites designed to evoke the grandeur of an Italian Palazzo, Hotel Granduca Houston boasts an award winning restaurant, Ristorante Cavour for upscale dining; Il Giardino for casual outdoor dining; an elegant ballroom, Salone Rialto; four state-of-the-art executive boardrooms; and an inviting Veranda and pool with adjacent fitness center. Hotel Granduca Houston and its sister property, Granduca Austin, are the only hotels in Texas to receive the Leading Hotels of the World distinction. Leading Hotels of the World is a private collection of independent, luxury hotels throughout the world. Hotel Granduca was conceived as part of Uptown Shopping Park, a European style outdoor shopping plaza, featuring fashionable shopping and restaurants, all adjacent to the hotel. For more a more comprehensive shopping, Hotel Granduca offers complimentary car services to the world acclaimed Houston Galleria and the new River Oaks Shopping Center in the hotel’s own Maserati. Designer boutiques and shops for men and women, fine-dining restaurants, cafes and entertainment and High-Fashion Luxury Shopping in Houston are all within minutes of Hotel Granduca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granduca Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granduca Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing