We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Granduca Houston
Ranked #2 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Great hotel. Small, beautiful, old world, great service, incredible location in the heart of the galleria. Great value on weekends - I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpagirlHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Guest

We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Houston. We do hope you will return again soon.

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.

Mary Grace Gray

Hotel Granduca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    107
    27
    22
    21
See reviews for
115
276
42
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I arrived at the hotel around 8:30 pm after a day of a long flight, followed by business meetings and dinner. I parked my rental car in a row of cars across the hotel's front entrance, but rather to the left, not directly across from it. I actually looked out for any valet parking signs, but did not see any in the dark. I was walking to the front entrance with the anticipation of finally relaxing at what promised to be a great hotel.

So, imagine my disappointment when I walked into the hotel, and the doorman immediately started telling me that I had parked in the wrong spot. He was insisting that I haul my luggage back and move the car right away. I asked him if he could help? No. All this time, the front desk personnel was rather disinterested. No one greeted me. Finally, I insisted that I was going to check in first. I expressed by disappointment to the guy checking me in, explaining that this level of service, or rather lack of service, is not befitting to a hotel that is listed among the Distinctive Hotels of the World. This got their attention. And they finally moved my car further two spots to the left of its current spot.

The room was rather nice and large, so was the bathroom. At other times, their service erred on the end of being extremely solicitous. They have a lovely pool area. Overall, it's a nice hotel, but too hyped up, and not remotely deserving of being among the Distinctive Hotels of the World.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your comments on your recent stay with us in Houston. We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your experiences. We look forward to your return to enjoy all that Granduca has to offer.

Sincerely

Mary Grace Gray

Hotel Granduca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Excellent personal service. Small however tastefully decorated rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Granduca. We are delighted you enjoyed our surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a great Summer!

Best regards,

Mary Grace Gray
General manager
Hotel Granduca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Thought the hotel was very stylish and very pricey, but wished I stayed for the entire weekend. Has a beautiful pool area, complete with a covered outdoor lounge and cabanas. Unusually laid out restaurant whose food was extremely tasty. The service throughout was polite, but I thought rather stiff--no personality! I knew this was high end elegance, but the staff could loosen up, it won't disappoint the clients I promise. Overall, it was very expensive, but probably not to the type of guests they cater too. Room was very spacious and complete (get one with a balcony overlooking the pool). I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is prepared to pay top dollar!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whyaskme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear about your stay in Houston at Hotel Granduca. We look forward to your return to enjoy the Pool, Veranda and our wonderful surroundings. Have a great Summer!

Mary Grace Gray
Hotel Granduca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I had high hopes for this hotel which promises an "Old World" experience. No one was there to open the door and help me with my car when I arrived. No one was there to open the door when I left either. I ordered their signature Granduca Burger for $29, but the truffles were obviously from a can and had no fragrance or flavor. The chef didn't bother to show his face. I left without checking in.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank denise5807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience at Hotel Granduca. I am truly sorry you were not pleased with your hamburger as well as the front desk services. I do hope you will return to allow us another opportunity to welcome you in our usual manner.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Hotel Granduca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We were at the Granduca from Thursday to Monday. The staff is friendly had a wonderful suite with kitchenette. Very clean and front desk staff was so nice friendly. The TV in the bedroom could have been bigger though. Pool area was nice and so was the food. All in all a great experience. Unfortunately, we were there during Final 4 basketball tournament so rates were sky high! Close to Galleria Mall and lots of restaurants 5 minutes away!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygrammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Hotel Granduca. We are always delighted to know our guests enjoy the serenity of our peaceful oasis. We do hope you will return again....We look forward to seeing you soon!

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Hotel Granduca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I have been a frequent guest at the Granduca. I guess I kept hoping it would improve, but it hasnot. The Granduca has disappointed me for the last time and I will not return.

1. Do not order room service. I called and ordered a chesse plate one evening when I was working late. The menu desribed three types of cheese and grapes. An hour passed- no cheese plate. I called. The woman who answered the phone promised to look into it. She never called back. Another 15 minutes passed and I called. She said she was looking into it. She never called back. After another 15 minutes, I called. The waiter answered and explained he had delivered it to the wrong room. I suggested he make another and he seemed surprised at my suggestion. Finally, he brought me the "cheese plate" -- three large hunks of some white cheese a few crackers and some relish. When I complained that it was not what was described in the menu, he shrugged and left. I called the front desk and ask them to have the General Manager call me. She never did.

2. Do not use the laundry service. They are incapable of accounting for clothing. Most recently, they lost my navy blazer for a day before finding it and they lost all of my laundry for the last night of my stay and then argued with me about whether I gave them any laundry. When I explained that I personally gave the bag to the front desk at 7 am, they acted as if they did not believe me and began calling people who were on duty at that time. After three more calls, I walked down to the front desk and asked to see where they kept the laundry. They refused me. The finally found my laundry at the clearners they use. They told me I would have it by 9 am the next day because it was "in a machine and wet." I explained that a suit should be dry cleaned and it best not be "wet.". They again said I could get my laundry by 9 am--small comfort since my flight was scheduled to leave before they wanted to return my laundry. After makiing me wait for a couple of hours, they finally brought me my laundry. It was not wet. It was finished and hanging. So, they kept me up for a couple of hours waiting on my laundry and they did not seem to care. Again, I asked to speak to the General Manager. She did not call me.

3. Do not use the mini bar. They only re-fill the mini bar when they want to do so. During my most recent stay, they tried to do so only once-- when I had the privacy sign on the door. Indeed, they just opened the door and attempted to come right in. They never tried to re-fill it again. On the last day of my stay, I took a soda bottle from the mini bar and when I tried to open it, it exploded and glass cut my lip. I grabbed a towel and tried to stop the bleeding and when I finally got it under control, I called the front desk and explained what had happened. They said they would send a maid to clean up the glass and a first aid kit if I needed one.The maid did not arrive in the 30 mins that passed before I had to leave. Nice eh? If I ran the hotel and a guest had a soda bottle explode from the mini bar, I think I would have gone to the guest's room and apologized and expressed concern. The General Manager never called me to explain how a soda bottle might explode or why and they charged me for the beverage that exploded.

4. They are greedy. I stayed for almost a week before the Final Four in Houston and needed to stay for five more days starting on the Sunday when no game was played, including Monday-Wednesday nights. I have a regular corporate rate with Granduca that is reasonable and I am a frequent guest. Yet, the Granduca jacked up my rate to $650 a night for Sunday and Monday and refused to reduce it claiming the Final Four generated demand for the rooms. That might have been true before Butler and U Conn won their semi-final games and there were cancellations all over Houston by fans of other larger programs who hoped to see their teams in the finals. The Granduca has no customer loyalty at all and they took advantage of me and they know it.

5. There is no management. I have asked the front desk staff to see a manager on a half dozen cocassions. Most of those were met with blank stares. The only place I ever saw the General Manager was on the hotel channel on the TV where she promised to take care of my every need. I have never seen her on property in any of my visits and she has never once responded to any of the messages I left at the front desk to have her call me to discuss each of the aforementioned experiences.

6. They are unresponsive. If you call the front desk, the standard reply is "I will look into it." Apparently, "looking into it" rarely involves calling you back to let you know what they are doing about it. There is no sense of urgency in responding to my requests.

7. They are unreliable. You might get business packages addressed to you or they may end up in another guest room. It is a crap shoot. Sometimes, your TV's work and sometimes, they do not. Sometimes, your bedside clock is right and sometimes, it is not. Occassionally, the bedside clock alarm goes off because they forget to clear it before giving you a room.

The Granduca has good bones-- a nice building; great rooms with lots of space and small kitchens; and a good location. But bones do not make a great hotel. A great hotel is about the service and there is no service at the Granduca.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gutreaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your last visit to our hotel. I am truly sorry Hotel Granduca disappointed you. I do welcome the opportunity to speak with you at your convenience. I was able to leave a message in your suite during your stay. I am certain you did not recieve my message as I was inviting you to join me for breakfast to address your concerns. The entire team looks forward to making your next visit a memorable one.

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Hotel Granduca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 511 in Houston
1,660 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 511 in Houston
1,466 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#27 of 511 in Houston
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granduca Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granduca Houston

Property: Hotel Granduca Houston
Address: 1080 Uptown Park Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#31 Business Hotel in Houston
#65 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Granduca Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located in one of Houston’s most exclusive neighborhoods, Hotel Granduca Houston blends Italian sophistication with modern, personalized amenities, offering travelers a luxurious escape in one of the county’s most dynamic cities. Featuring 122 residential-style rooms and suites designed to evoke the grandeur of an Italian Palazzo, Hotel Granduca Houston boasts an award winning restaurant, Ristorante Cavour for upscale dining; Il Giardino for casual outdoor dining; an elegant ballroom, Salone Rialto; four state-of-the-art executive boardrooms; and an inviting Veranda and pool with adjacent fitness center. Hotel Granduca Houston and its sister property, Granduca Austin, are the only hotels in Texas to receive the Leading Hotels of the World distinction. Leading Hotels of the World is a private collection of independent, luxury hotels throughout the world. Hotel Granduca was conceived as part of Uptown Shopping Park, a European style outdoor shopping plaza, featuring fashionable shopping and restaurants, all adjacent to the hotel. For more a more comprehensive shopping, Hotel Granduca offers complimentary car services to the world acclaimed Houston Galleria and the new River Oaks Shopping Center in the hotel’s own Maserati. Designer boutiques and shops for men and women, fine-dining restaurants, cafes and entertainment and High-Fashion Luxury Shopping in Houston are all within minutes of Hotel Granduca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granduca Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granduca Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing