We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Granduca Houston
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Houstonian(Houston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness center
Reviews (908)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveler rating
703
122
35
22
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
122
35
22
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuptown parkristorante cavourleading hotels of the worldjunior suitewalk in closetromantic getawaybeautiful hotelgalleria areapool areaseparate bedroomfavorite hotelsmall kitchenfull kitchenroom servicehotel experiencehome away from homerooms are large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
856 - 861 of 908 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We have stayed at the Granduca for years. Initially it was a 'find.' However, in subsequent months, each visit reveals a marked decline: no slippers; art work in suite replaced with white paper with a logo in a frame; no glasses; no hot pad for micro; less dishware; sloppy housekeeping; no mats by bed in turndown; less towels; removal of some furniture; waiting forever for patio service; food marginal to poor - our last room service of eggs benedict consisted of one tough bun, a hard Canadian bacon with rind and one egg with a questionable dab of 'hollandaise' - nothing else like years ago when we got tomatoes, the standard two English muffins, potatoes, etc.; ridiculous room service charges which the staff does not get; coffee maker does not work despite asking for a replacement beforehand; credit cards no longer on file so check-in is tedious; the Valentine's Day dinner was terrible starting with smelly fish; bathrobes in size 2 which really works for a man!; etc., etc.. We have moved our stays to another hotel. The Granduca is an oasis of quiet in the middle of Houston but they must have fallen on hard times and it really shows.

Room Tip: Check reviews.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank newsanddeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Hotel Granduca in Houston. We sincerely appreciate your comments and we all look forward to your return. It will be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back to your home away from home. Your comments are well noted.

My Best Regards,
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Hotel Granduca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I travel to Houston several times yearly for both pleasure and business. I usually stay at the St. Regis,but tried the Granduca on the recommendation of a friend when it had no vacancy. What luck for me. This place is charming with its understated elegance, perfect service. and lavish rooms. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkjjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Hotel Granduca. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hoping to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Hotel Granduca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Hotel Granduca is just like it's name Grand in every aspect. The moment you enter this hotel it feels comfortable, clean, warm, as if you're stepping into a European time warp. The room was spacious complete with kitchen, the bathroom was quite large considering this is where most hotels skimp. The hotel is close to some great restaurants and all within walking distance. Nestled in a cul de sac makes it very quiet and peaceful. The staff was courteous and one hardly knows they are even present unless you need something. I highly recommend anyone looking for something special they book their next visit at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyzoomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience regarding your stay with us at Hotel Granduca in Houston. We are delighted you found the hotel to be everything you enjoyed. We really hope you will be coming to Houston again soon, as this is a beautiful time in our great city.

Very Sincerely,
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager
Hotel Granduca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Granduca last week to attend a Energy Symposium. I wish my business trip had been longer (how many times can you say that?) as Hotel Granduca was a unexpected pleasure. From check in, to my tastefully decorated room and departure, it was a flawless experience. This wonderful boutique hotel makes one feel as you transported back to Italy. The entire staff is accommodating and you want to stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kismet1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGraceGray, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

Dear Kismet

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Granduca. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you

Mary Grace Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

It looks good from the outside, though obviously standard Houston building, and you would think this is an Italian hotel. It is not: it only pretends to be. It looks like a Holiday Inn visited by a film crew shooting Ben Hur: everything is fake, the comfort is so-so, the service just OK and the price exorbitant...
And the breakfast was terrible: late, cold eggs, munchy muffin, poor coffee (nothing Italian there), hash brown from last year...
The only thing I liked was a lunch in the main restaurant: delicious Italian food...
If you want a great luxury hotel in the same area, cross 610 and stay at the St Regis...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colligra, General Manager at Hotel Granduca Houston, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2011

Dear Philippe,

I am so sorry to know you did not enjoy your experience at Granduca this month. May I ask that you kindly contact me by phone to discuss your experiences?

Many Thanks,
Mary Grace Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews