We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Birthday Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Ranked #53 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sugar Land, United States
1 review
“Our Birthday Trip”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I brought 3 teenage girls along with my collage age daughter for a birthday celebration in Houston. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The room clean and comfortable and the breakfast very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Donna, Thank you so much for your 5 star rating. We are so glad that you decided to choose our Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria for your daughter's birthday celebration. Our hotel and staff strive to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel and very happy to hear that we reached our goal. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future possibly for another celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    177
    66
    31
    18
See reviews for
250
58
33
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The front desk staff clearly needs more training. My room type was switched due to what was available, which I agreed to, except that they did not tell me that the studio suites have showers, no baths, which would have been helpful information. They also did not change my rate without several prompts and reminders.

The strangest thing is that they have not put wastebaskets in the kitchens. I was told by the front desk staff that Hilton exempted them from that, due to their green initiative and that food garbage should either go into the bathroom, or in the small, unlined wastebasket in the living room that was divided for recycling or food waste. This was a problem because I really didn't want food garbage (like a banana peel) or empty leftover boxes either in the bathroom or out in the living room. So the only thing to do is leave it out on the kitchen counter, which makes the studio sized suite smelly. I definitely could not stay at this hotel for very long, so I checked out early and went somewhere else. Between no bathtub, and no place for garbage, it was just not what I wanted.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Travel L, thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your December stay. We will definitely use your comments as a training opportunity for our team to address communication and delivery of changed reservations. As for the Hilton mandated green initiative, our waste baskets continue to be a learning and training topic for our entire team. This is taking some adjustment and I appreciate you giving us a some honest feedback and concern. Again, we will take your comments and share with our management team. So I do apologize for any shortcomings in what you were expecting and/or wanted. Please be sure to come back and try our newly refurbished rooms and the new decor throughout our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Security was a prime concern with panhandlers outside of the front door and taking refuge in the alley around the parking garage. The breakfast is below average with staff not keeping the food warm or the tables clean. If you want a waffle, be prepared to wait with one waffle maker for the entire breakfast crowd. The rooms are good value and clean. The staff was not up to standard. My kids 16 and 18 had the door opened without any knocks or annoucement that they were Hotel staff. We were glad that they had the slide lock on... When they called the front desk, they were told that the staff was checking for empty rooms and had an outdated list. Last, if you have any issues with your room after 5 pm, forget about it. We had a tv that couldn't get the high definition channels. We called the front desk and they said they couldn't do anything. In the morning we stopped by the front desk to ask about the television and later they had a letter in the room providing a free movie. Nice gesture, but it was too late.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
John, I am sorry that you felt unsecure or sensed that there was a security concern at our hotel. In addition to all of our entry ways that require a key card access after normal business hours, we have a management support program that makes sure that we have manager presence during prime times; plus we also have routine security on patrol various evenings to add to our sense of security. I am sorry that your breakfast experience was less than great; we offer a variety of hot and cold buffet items to choose from so that there is an array available for all of our guests. As like many hotels during this time, December is typically one of our slower months for travel, however, certain events in the area do bring in many groups and the fact that we were reburshing our hotel was a challenge in itself to keep up with the demands and requests; limited staffing tends to pull our staff in many directions and should in no way impact your stay. So I do apologize for any shortcomings in service related issues that may have arisen during your stay. This is not an everyday occurance and hope that this will not affect your staying with us in the future. We will definitely use your comments as a training opportunity and share with our team. Please be sure to come back and try our newly refurbished rooms and the new decor throughout our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

There was a Managers Reception AND a complemetary breakfast??? How was i supposed to know this??? The lady that checked me in at the front desk didn't tell me and there was no literature in my room containing this information. there we also no signs in the lobby or the elevators with this infomation. Your front desk staff is badly in need of training, I travel approximately 45 weeks a year and usually the first thing I'm greeted with is "Have you stayed with us before?" And if not, the front desk person will list the amenities available at that property. The lady told me about construction in the hotel, but that was it. At least there we signs up about the constuction. The room was spotless, the housekeeping staff was friendly, but your front desk people are beyond worthless.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Lee, my sincere apologies for your welcome experience on your stay at our hotel in December 2013. Thank you for your honest feed back regarding your experience. Our front desk team has been challenged with the refresh going on and it is unfortunate that the evening you checked in we did not deliver our hotel amenities. In all honesty this is a very rare occassion that one of our staff would oversee the check-in process. A normal check-in would be to find out if you had stayed with us before, and if not, go into featuring our amenities and the benefits for you personally. In addition, due to the ongoing reburish some of our normal signage and literature was out of normal place. Please know that we will use your feedback as a training opporunity with our staff to better our guests experience upon arrival. Again, thank you for your feedback and honesty and we hope that you will consider another stay with us in the future now that our refresh is near complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My flight was delayed and I arrived at 2am at Homewood Suites, Houston where I had a reservation. But I soon felt comfortable in my quiet 12th floor room. The breakfast next morning was nice; the decor in the cafeteria is well done. There were many families with kids. They seemed to be crowded at that time of the year. They have a laundry equipped with a washer and dryer. Internet is free. The staff members are courteous and helpful.

Since it is located so close to Galleria mall, it was easy for me to do some shopping next day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Seepi, thank you for your feedback! I am very happy to hear that although you arrived very late in the evening or early morning hours, you were delighted with your spacious suite on the 12th floor and that you were comfortable. I am also happy to hear that you were very pleased with the breakfast and decor of our Lodge despite the crowd of families that you encountered. Thank you for mentioning our free internet, washer/dryer options, and that our staff members are courteous and helpful, they always do their very best to make sure that our guests feel at home. Also, it is a priority here to always acknowledge guests as they come and go, so please know that we appreciate and care for each of our guests. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in any of your future travels! Perhaps another shopping opportunity at the nearby Galleria Mall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Overall, the stay was great. We were in town for Thanksgiving and thought that the Galleria would be a good location. It's a pet friendly hotel, so the halls had a bit of a urine odor, but the room was clean. Awesome breakfast buffet, and dinner, wine, and beer are complimentary M-Th. I was disappointed that the $15 per night parking fee wasn't mentioned when I booked, but I wasn't shocked. The gym and indoor pool were great perks for my husband, and we all enjoyed being able to walk to the Galleria. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaShunda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
LaShunda, we are so glad that overall your stay was great and that your family enjoyed your Thanksgiving in the Galleria area. We are delighted that you enjoyed our complimentary bountiful breakfast buffet, our evening dinner with beer & wine that we offer complimentary Mon thru Thu; plus your husband was able to take time and experience our PreCor Fitness Room, and our indoor pool area. We are sorry about the surprise $15 daily parking charge; know that our Central Reservations Team for Hilton brands are scripted to review all expected charges and it is also noted on email confirmations for guests review. Also, we apologize that you experienced a pet odor during your stay. There is nothing more important to us than the cleanliness and overall satisfaction of our guests. Thank you for making us aware of the situations so that we can remedy as quickly as possible. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback and your taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We definitely look forward to seeing you back at our hotel. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had excellent service, fresh complimentary breakfast and light supper each day. When there was a problem with the heating element in the pool the hotel quickly took care of us. The room was clean and remodeled. Will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your time in posting a review for our hotel, it is greatly appreciated. We are so glad that you were able to experience such excellent service, and enjoyed our fresh complimentary breakfast and our light supper each day. We are happy to address any problems that may arise during a stay, like when you reported the problem with the heating element in the pool we quickly took care of the issue. We are at your service! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are excited that you were able to experience one of our newly remodeled rooms. Come back and see us as we definitely have more changes to come including our dining area!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria

Property: Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Address: 2950 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Houston
#9 Business Hotel in Houston
#30 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the heart of the Galleria and provides luxurious accommodations for weekend travelers and long term visitors. The Houston Galleria Mall is only steps from our front door and boasts three buildings, three stories each of world class shopping, casual dining, and indoor ice-skating rink. The Galleria area is also home to world renowned dinning and night life. These amenities combine to create a year round destination for family vacations, romantic getaways, shopping excursions, or sight-seeing with friends.We are an all-suite hotel providing separate living, kitchen, and bedroom areas for all of our rooms. All of our rooms are furnished with stove tops, microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, kitchen supplies and pull out sofas. We offer one-bedroom or studio suites to accommodate all room preferences. The suites also provided a separate vanity area from the bathroom to provide convince for families and couples.Homewood Suites is pleased to offer a rotating hot breakfast buffet each morning to our guest as well as "Dinner and Drinks" Monday through Thursday evening. Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool, fitness facility, BBQ area, and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Houston Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Homewood Houston
Houston Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing