We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to beat for what it offers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Ranked #56 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hard to beat for what it offers”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

There are some much fancier hotels around the Galleria, at some fancier prices, however I rate this as Excellent based on what it delivers against what it promises. I stayed here a number of times in 2011 with and without wife and son. Homewood Suites however offers a great friendly service and I would really recommend this hotel whether you are staying for a few days or a few weeks (which we did several times). The good bits:
- Amazing staff, always friendly and remembered our names on subsequent visits.
- Clean, large rooms.
- Location is (too !!) close to the Galleria shops
- Superb service if you need any help, something fixed, etc.
- Breakfast is not spectacular, but it doesn't promise to be. It is good for what it is, healthy and served with a smile. The free drinks are in the evenings are limited, but they are free !! (The only reasons to choose it's sister hotel, the Embassy Suites, across the street, is for the breakfast and the better bar. For everything else, the Homewood wins by miles)

I can't think of any downsides, unless you were expecting one of the fancy hotels and came here. But thats not the target of Homewood. Definitely would come back here when we return to H Town.

Room Tip: Double check that the suite is not on floor 6 (if i recall correctly) - some of the rooms are conver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonguk_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallsm271, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear our hotel met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    177
    66
    30
    18
See reviews for
250
58
33
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Wonderful hotel. By far the friendliest staff from the front desk personnel to dining staff were the friendliest I have ever had the privelege of meeting. Great rooms. Location is next to Galleria.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianTheTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallsm271, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We value the opinions of all of our guest and look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

THe rooms are very comfortable two-room suites. The outer room has a decent, serviceable kitchen (full-size fridge, garbage disposer, dishwasher, silverware, plates, glasses, basic cooking pots, a corkscrew even), fold-out sofa, table and chairs, tv and dresser. The inner room has a comfortable bed, large bathroom, vanity area, tv and dresser. Lots of electrical outlets, lots of storage space. Clean comfortable rooms, minimal noise passed between rooms. Very quiet. But what made this place really special was the staff. We were here for a family event and had about 7 or 8 rooms total (not enough for the hotel to think we were big-time guests or anything). Everybody went out of their way to accommodate every request. I was really impressed. At times the front desk ca be a little slow; but that's only because they are making sure that the person in front of them is completely satisfied before they move on to you and your request. The location is fantastic. There is little to no public transportation in Houston, but since there is lots of shopping, etc. close by, this is a place you could stay without a car.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallsm271, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff values each guest opinion and we strive to make each stay better. We look forward to being your host on your next trip to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here while i was on a project in Houston and my wife was expecting our second baby, considering her situation we asked for a room on the ground floor which was a good and a bad decision.....good because the first night we checked in the fire alarm went off and everyone was asked to evacuate and if we were on higher floors we would have to use the stairs all the way down as you are not suppose to use the Elevators if its a fire related emergency, so anyhow i was happy that my wife did not have to go through this and we just walked out of our room and came outside......but staying on ground floor also mean a lot of noise, also the housekeeping staff did not know how to speak a word of english and it was hard to communicate with them, my wife has asthma problem and dust usually agrevate it and i noticed a lot of dust on the fake plants that were in the room and on the sides of the windows.
You have to pay for parking which i did not like as i was a long term staying guest and my company reimburse me for the parking charges during the week but not for the weekend.
I liked the fact that they had indoor pool which my daughter enjoyed alot and no matter how how hot it was outside or if its raining, we would be comfortable in the pool, also they offer free breakfast which is quiet nice and in the evening from Mon - thu they have a social hour where they offer complimentary snacks and drinks for all the guests, the snacks were sometime soo good that after having that we would not eat dinner.
Also this hotel is walking distance to the Galleria Mall so that was a bonus.
Overall a good hotel at a great location but he front desk staff did not take any action on any of our complaints and did not seem to care as much although we stayed there for soo long that my daughter started calling that place her home.

Room Tip: Don't get the ground floor it was quiet noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triptourist1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallsm271, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time review your stay at our property. I apologize for your dissatisfaction. I promise your review is being addressed in ensure complete resolve of the issue. As a property we continually strive to do better. I hope you will give us another oportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed for 4 days in Dec/Jan, we had a 2 room suite with fold out sofa, we had 2 adults and 2 kids, which is ok if your kids don't mind sharing a bed. The room was modern and clean and the kitchen was a bonus. The breakfast was basic but sufficient. The location was great for shopping at Galleria, which is a fantastic shopping mall. The restaurant next door "Tango Malbec" was really lovely. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallsm271, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at our hotel. Your opion is of great value to us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in late December. 3 kids, 2 adults. Enjoyed the indoor pool, and had a decent meal for breakfast each morning. Dinner was offered too - we had mini-pizzas one night which was perfect for the kids. Close to shopping and in a good central location for visiting our friends all over Houston. Staff was absolutely wonderful the entire time which is the main reason I will plan to stay here again. I only rated a 4 instead of a 5 because I save the 5's for more 'upscale' hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallsm271, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to accomodating you and your family on your next trip to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I was a little surprised that they started charging for parking, when they didn't last year. Also, the sign in the garage says that parking is $14 per night, but they insisted on charging me $15. Just a small thing, but annoying. Also, I am thankful that the room had four coffee cups in it, since three of them still had food residue on them...obviously not cleaned properly after the last use. Makes you wonder what else they did not clean. I am a Hilton HHonors Gold VIP member, but I had to ask twice for the bottled water that is supposed to be included in the room for loyalty level. For a hotel that is pricing itself as upscale, they are not delivering upscale services. There is a Sheraton Suites down the road that was offering a similar room, minus the kitchen (a suite), for about $100 less a night. I think I will stay there next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadnonstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallsm271, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am truely sorry for the issues you encountered. I will personally be looking into these situations to ensure they do not happen in the future. I hope in the future you grant us the opportunity to regain your layalty as we value all of our guest dearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria

Property: Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Address: 2950 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Houston
#9 Business Hotel in Houston
#30 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the heart of the Galleria and provides luxurious accommodations for weekend travelers and long term visitors. The Houston Galleria Mall is only steps from our front door and boasts three buildings, three stories each of world class shopping, casual dining, and indoor ice-skating rink. The Galleria area is also home to world renowned dinning and night life. These amenities combine to create a year round destination for family vacations, romantic getaways, shopping excursions, or sight-seeing with friends.We are an all-suite hotel providing separate living, kitchen, and bedroom areas for all of our rooms. All of our rooms are furnished with stove tops, microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, kitchen supplies and pull out sofas. We offer one-bedroom or studio suites to accommodate all room preferences. The suites also provided a separate vanity area from the bathroom to provide convince for families and couples.Homewood Suites is pleased to offer a rotating hot breakfast buffet each morning to our guest as well as "Dinner and Drinks" Monday through Thursday evening. Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool, fitness facility, BBQ area, and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Houston Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Homewood Houston
Houston Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing