We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
Ranked #44 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Indigo for 3 nights in July for a wedding and thought this hotel was beautiful. We loved the bright interior colors and the cleanliness of the rooms. The room was a bit larger than average and very clean. Also, there is no extra cost for parking, which is interesting since it's a less than 5 minute walk to to the Galleria. We had once stayed at the Intercontinental, which is about 5 minute drive from Hotel Indigo and paid $17 per night for parking. The shower is interesting. There is no door to the shower and was told that this is a signature of Hotel Indigo. I was worried the floors outside the shower would get extremely wet but to our surprise it didn't. The only downside was the cafe. Not sure if they are understaffed but it took FOREVER to get breakfast and the selections are limited but tour waitress was courtesies. The front staff was also polite and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 645 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

We had a room booked at the Intercontenial down the street but switched since this had such high ratings on Tripadvisor. We stayed two nights Friday the 10th to the 12th, when we checked in the lobby was nice. I was using my points from Priority Club, I am at the Plat level, the girl checking us in wasnt that cheerful until she saw my profile on the reservation then changed her greating after that. We we given room #315 which is a corner two room suite. When we get to the room the first thing I always do it turn down the A/C. My wife and I leave to go to an Astros game come back and get to the room and it is still not cold. Mind you that there are two ac units in the room. Well the thermostat thats on the wall still shows 76 in both rooms. I make sure to turn it on again, still an hour and a half later is still 75 on the wall, my clock I have shows 79 this is at 1 am at this point. We call and see if there is a fan, they say no they can switch us rooms. So we did at 2 am switch rooms, at this point I didnt even want a suite so we just got a reg room which turned out to be fine.
I did notice in the rooms, the tile grout needs to be re-done, the showers dont drain good. But the setup of the rooms are nice, nice bedding, nice work area, nice to have a wet bar, the rooms are quite I didnt even hear people in the hall. The rooms are very bright they do not have darking curtins, even in the suites there are windows with no shades on them at all.
We ate dinner one night there and the flat bread pizza is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPTexan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Just returned from watching the Houston Astros game. We stayed in the Galleria area which is extremely nice. The hotel was easy to find (although we do travel with GPS) and lterally right next to the Galleria. Everything about the hotel is first rate. Super clean, super friendly. Honestly, i can't think of anything negative to say about this place. The staff were fantastic, the attention to detail was evident anywhere you went. This is a great location for any of the Houston sporting events since it is really no more than 10-15 miles from any of them. Here is a very big upside to staying in the galleria area as opposed to downtown: Almost all of the downtown hotels use valet parking which is around $28 per day. These Galleria area hotels (at least most of them i assume) have their own parking space and therefore don't charge anything. You stay downtown for 3 or more nights and you might as well add $100+ to the real price of your stay. And although i have stayed at the older nice hotels downtown, their really isn't anything to do within walking distance. The galleria on the other hand has tons of things to do within walking distance from any of the hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cayomartin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

This hotel is beautiful and also relatively inexpensive for such a nice place. Staff was polite and friendly. Lobby is decorated with really neat 2-person cushioned adirondack chairs, wood floors, and indigo walls, which felt relaxing and was also a nice change from usual hotel lobbies. We had 2 rooms, a King room and a room with 2 double beds. The rooms themselves are also very pretty with the same wood floors and indigo beach decor as rest of the hotel. They felt slightly cramped though big enough for a 1-night stay. Bathroom was roomy and comfortable. Shower stall is extra long with removable spray head and also has a wood bench for towels, shaving, etc.
CONS---
1. Our door didn't sit properly on its hinges and was hard to deadbolt. Also, we could see light streaming in from around one edge where door was slightly ajar.
2. No blackout curtains. Windows are covered with wood blinds only so room gets bright fairly early in the morning. Unfortunately, our wood blinds were messed up a bit so we got more light than was necessary.
3. A/C units are kind of loud. I got used to the noise, but that only made it especially jarring whenever the unit cycled off.

Cons aside, we enjoyed our stay in this hotel and might return there again if we need to be in the Galleria area. I recommend it but be sure to pack your eye covers!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PineSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed in one of their suites and it was perfect for a bachelorette party. Close to everything - galleria (shopping), midtown, rice village (night life). The colors were really fun and fresh, not overwhelming or tacky.

Liked the shower, although no curtain (not designed to have one), loved the counter space in the "kitchen" area (mini fridge & sink) and adorable/fun ice bucket, you just wanted to take it home.

Liked that there were two AC thermostats, but didn't like that the bedroom AC didn't ever kick on. The bedroom was uncomfortable for sleeping, but the outer room was perfect.

We asked for extra shampoo and conditioner (sunday morning) and they were quick to bring it up.

Not too many people I know have heard of it, so all in all, great place, great location and the parking is free.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Very interesting hotel from a design standpoint. Very vibrant colors throughout. Loved the walk in shower. Nice having hardwood floors in room instead of carpet. The bed was so comfy. Free parking was very nice. I will be staying at this hotel again.

Only problem I had was a broken toilet. It took over an hour to fix and I could not get another room because they were booked up. However, they did fix the problem.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylguyatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Very nice hotel designed in Metropolitan Home Magazine style. Nice clean rooms and excellent service. Hotel is about 2-3 blocks from the Galleria and (in temperate weather) and an easy safe walk. The location is several blocks away from Westheimer and plenty of food etc places. No pool, but a simple weight room is located downstairs. This was once an Assisted Living facility which means the rooms are large and logically arranged. In room internet is wired, one is provided in the wall socket. The small business area has several internet PCs if you need to check internet etc.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMarchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria

Address: 5160 Hidalgo St, Galleria / Uptown, Houston, TX 77056-6404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Houston
#68 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#80 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $105 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria is located in the trendy Houston Galleria neighborhood - at the heart of the Uptown District - home to this innovative Houston hotel. Let us Inspire You. Our non-smoking rooms have breathtaking decor, over sized beds, fluffy over sized pillows and cozy duvets. We have complimentary parking outside, as well as, complimentary high speed Internet hot spots inside the hotel. An inviting lobby and pub styled social area welcomes you into this Houston hotel. Relax and enjoy our quick service bistro (Cross Roads)for cutting edge cuisine, as we proudly brew Houston's local Dodd Coffee. Our meeting rooms are trendy and stylish - a perfect balance for business or social events. To experience Hotel Indigo Houston Galleria is to indulge in high peace. Like the uptown neighborhood, we are dedicated to pleasing you. You won't find a better fit than our Hotel in the Houston Galleria Uptown Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Hotel Indigo Houston
Indigo Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing