We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to sleep, don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
Ranked #39 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Village, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want to sleep, don't stay here”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My sister and I stayed here over the weekend and had a terrible stay. The air conditioner is Sooo very loud and made it impossible to sleep. When it cut off, it was so loud it would scare you and made a miserable night. Mentioned to the front staff and he acted like he could care less. It is a shame because it is a nice hotel. We go to Houston monthly and will never stay again. Spent over $200.00 for no sleep at all. Shower is also set up where when you turn it on, you get soaked. There is glass on the shower door where the faucet is and you have no choice but to walk in and turn it on.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Greetings! My apologies for our lack of customer care within our in-room a/c unit. We value your feedback and will look into this. All of our Spa showers are designed the same, as I will make note of your comment. Thank you! S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    216
    71
    24
    15
See reviews for
97
189
50
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My spouse and I stayed for a week for business.

Friendly up beat front desk staff.  Very accommodating and helpful.  Hotel decorated nicely, bright and cheerful.  On site restaurant nice for simple breakfast or dinner, very convenient for before or after work.

Rooms rather ill equipped...large kitchen area in suites with not so much as a plastic spoon or towel.  Noisy refrigerator on countertop along with microwave....made me wonder why all the expense of cabinetry.   Also no closet in room, only a small armoire that holds a few men's shirts if you are not too tall.  Forget hanging a dress that you don't want wrinkled.

Housekeeping never arrived until late in the day and usually following a knock on the door and a staff member asking if the room had been serviced yet.  When the room was serviced we would never know what we would get or not get...sometimes one towel, sometimes two.  Often no bath rug and no replacement toiletries.

Shower was an awkward configuration, but plenty of hot water.

Definitely need room darkening shades or drapes...the blinds do not block out the light and due to a room change we were on both sides of the hotel.  Also the construction is not sound deadening enough so street nose, engines, outside air units etc....were quite loud.  We turned off AC units inside at night because it was like trying to sleep near an airplane engine...constant hum/roar.

And the primary reason we will probably not choose Indigo again are the sheets and bed linens.  Sheets were stiff and actually made a crunchy plastic sound if you moved around in the bed.  The pillows were terribly uncomfortable and the bedcover/spread was very (and I mean very) heavy and almost impossible to use.

The location is great, front desk super, convenient on site restaurant, free wifi, and free parking but unless they remedy the simple things:
1. Improve housekeeping
2.add room darkening drapes
3.  Improve bedding (see where Hilton Garden Inn gets theirs)
We will not elect to stay again.....and would only recommend with a stern warning about bed comfort, light and noise.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LuannMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for such detailed feedback within your comments. We value your information and will share it with our team members. S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Please do not let the looks fool you online, they say its boutique, but its not, no where close to... First let me start off by letting you know the hotel was very hard to find, its all the way in the back of other hotels... The views are horrible, rooms are old and showers look just like gym showers old and mildew.. This place is worth no more than $65 per night, nothing special nor different... The one plus that the place have going its their friendly staff, other than that, i wanted to check out the minute i was checked it...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I really appreciate them. First of all, we are a boutique hotel. We do sit in the back of other hotels; however, we find it more quite away from the busy traffic surrounding the Galleria. As I checked our records, I did not find any complaints during your stay pertaining to guest bathroom issues. If you had such an issue, we are here to satisfy it. Thank you S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went to celebrate my mom's birthday and there were 3 of us. They let us check in early and we were even upgraded. It was a nice surprise all around. The room was decorated nicely and the bathroom was huge. I loved the coastal decor, it was amazing. I was a little disappointed because there was not bath tub but the shower was huge. There was a small refrigerator and microwave with a cozy eating area for two. There was a restaurant/slash bar that I only got a coffee from, but I wasn't too impressed with the coffee. We loved the location because we could walk to Nordstrom's. That was a plus and one of the reasons we stayed there. Overall a great trip and I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winejunkie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Greetings! I am glad you had a nice weekend at our hotel. I really appreciate your comments and share them with the staff members. S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference. The rooms are adorable, with a very Florida beach-like feel. Many restaurants are walkable since it backs up to the Galleria. Carl at the front desk was so helpful and brightened our day each time we spoke with him. The only downsides, there's no pool/hot tub (though you have the option of going to the hotel next door) and we had a room next to the banquet hall and were kept up by a party on Friday night and woken by a group having breakfast (along with a dj) the next morning. Service at breakfast was very slow, but we loved Derk, the bartender, who was there in the evenings

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank possicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for such great information within your survey. We value such feedback! Thank you for staying with us. S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. Free wifi and parking is very welcome! The location is great - a mix of business and nice residential properties, so feels safe. Entrance to the Galleria is only a few strides away through the back entrance of Nordstrom.
The Air-con is very noisy - like having a helicopter taking off in the room. Ice machines are on all levels, except the second floor. No curtains, only blinds which do not keep out the plentiful outside lighting. Shower is ok but too low for us (we're not giants at 5'10" and 6'0") and on the first morning we had to run the hot water for about 15 mins before hot water came through.
Given the Tripadvisor reviews, we were expecting first class service from the front desk. We were told by the front desk that there were no places to eat breakfast within walking distance which is absolute rubbish! There is the Argentina Cafe across the street on Hildalgo/Sage and Le Peep is a short walk across from the Galleria. Another request to the front desk a day later was met with another clipped "no". Not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlboroughFijigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for such good feedback. Also, thank you for pointing out the lack of directions and assistance from our staff members. We will work on this. We value your feedback and really appreciate such good information. S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Indigo along with our out-of-town guests and our wedding party last weekend for our big TexIndian wedding weekend! Everyone LOVED the hotel and commented on how accommodating the staff was throughout the four days. We had a mix of guests ranging from small town country folks, to city dwellers and even a few international guests; literally everyone loved it and felt comfortable. I, as well as a number of our guests, come from the hotel industry so we can sometimes be hard to please but there were no complaints! We hosted the mehndi in the bridal suite one night and had about 20 guests; everyone had plenty of room and didn't feel cramped at all. The open parking was a huge plus, and honestly, a big reason why we booked this hotel. Anyway, you get the picture...nothing but kudos all around. Great staff, great hotel, great location, great rooms. There is no way you can stay at this cheery little hotel and not be happy!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexIndianMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for such an awesome review. I really appreciate your feedback. I remember meeting and speaking to some of the guests in your group and they were very nice. We really enjoyed having you'll with us. Thanks again for such positive words. I will share them with our staff team. SBowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria

Property: Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
Address: 5160 Hidalgo St, Galleria / Uptown, Houston, TX 77056-6404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Houston
#68 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#80 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria is located in the trendy Houston Galleria neighborhood - at the heart of the Uptown District - home to this innovative Houston hotel. Let us Inspire You. Our non-smoking rooms have breathtaking decor, over sized beds, fluffy over sized pillows and cozy duvets. We have complimentary parking outside, as well as, complimentary high speed Internet hot spots inside the hotel. An inviting lobby and pub styled social area welcomes you into this Houston hotel. Relax and enjoy our quick service bistro (Cross Roads)for cutting edge cuisine, as we proudly brew Houston's local Dodd Coffee. Our meeting rooms are trendy and stylish - a perfect balance for business or social events. To experience Hotel Indigo Houston Galleria is to indulge in high peace. Like the uptown neighborhood, we are dedicated to pleasing you. You won't find a better fit than our Hotel in the Houston Galleria Uptown Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Hotel Indigo Houston
Indigo Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing