We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money, you can't beat it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Ranked #56 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For the money, you can't beat it!”
Reviewed March 31, 2008

I'm a Hilton Honors member so I looked at the reviews for all of their hotels in the area. This one came highly recommended and now I see why. For the money, you can't beat it.
The rooms are very nice. Double bed room is adequately sized for two travelers. Very Clean! I can't say enough about the Hilton beds. They are so comfortable I'm thinking about buying one for my home. This hotel had a great bar with a very nice bar tender who knew a thing or two about making martinis. Free shuttle service within a 3 mile area but we didn't need it because this hotel is really within walking distance of any attraction/good restaurant in the galleria area. We went to dinner at a Japanese restaurant down the street which was excellent. A little pricey but worth it if you like this kind of food. The next day we ate at the Mexican restaurant next store to Japanese place but it was not very good. I think the name was Maggie Rita's or something like that. The service was awful and the food definitely not noteworthy. This hotel is a gem and if I ever return to Houston, I'll be staying there again! The taxi fare is around $46.00 to the airport (Hobby) and takes around 25 minutes on a Sunday afternoon.

  • Liked — Location/Cleanliness of Rooms/Comfortable Beds
  • Disliked — No shuttle service to the airport.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mizejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    179
    69
    29
    18
See reviews for
182
76
38
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We had a great experience! Staff was professional, hotel was spotless, very peaceful area at night. We spent our Valentines weekend at this hotel and plan to return Memorial day weekend. I am quite the shopper and the Galleria was right around the
corner within walking distance, 1 1/2 blocks per say.
Restaurant choices were plenty, within 2-5 minutes from the hotel and many choices were available in the Galleria as well. Treat yourself to a pleasant get away soon!

  • Liked — Greate location, Cleanliness, close to interstate
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carribeandiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

stayed here on a weekend the hotel was nice but if you stay ask for a room facing the parking garage on the north end of the hotel near the galleria end. there is a mens club on the south side of the hotel people were yelling at 5am both fri,sat. in the parking lot . other than that the beds soft . bathrooms need to be updated. look rather old.

  • Liked — the comfort of the beds
  • Disliked — noise coming from the mens club on the southside of the hotel
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bluelion137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

We booked our three night stay directly with the hotel on their website, which was the best rate at the time.

The location was in a nice area, within walking distance of the Galleria Mall and Williams Water Wall, plus a few other shops (such as Best Buy). This was our first visit to Houston and the stainless steel-finished traffic lights and pedestrian crossings gave the area a kind of new feel. It was also my first ever experience to enjoy a snack at the nearby Chick-fil-A!

The room itself was a typical small hotel room, but with the two queen beds, we still had enough room to spread our luggage a bit. Room amenities were excellent (good toiletries, microwave, in-room safe) and the room and furniture were very clean.

The wired internet connection (using your own laptop) was excellent and free.

The hotel lobby and breakfast area was of good quality, with breakfast held in the restaurant adjacent to the lobby area. There was a good hot selection (although the usual "powdered" scrambled eggs) plus all the usual bagels, toast, make-your-self waffles, pastries and cereal. There were also a range of juices, tea, coffee and fresh fruit.

The buffet breakfast was included in our room rate, although the check-in staff had failed to give us our breakfast vouchers when we checked-in - we later obtained them by enquiring about the breakfast because it's not included with all room bookings. I'm not sure what the cost would have been if you had to pay separately, but it was definitely good value when it was included with our room rate.

Self-parking was listed as costing $8.00 on the hotel's website, but we found that there was ample parking (some undercover) and it was actually free.

Our only contact with the staff was with the reception staff and the breakfast area staff and I'd have to say that the friendliness of some of the staff was only average (certainly not as friendly and helpful compared to most other places we have stayed at throughout the US - after so many positive experiences, I suppose we were bound to encounter some not-so-perfect service!).

Overall though it was a great example of a Hilton hotel in a good location in the Galleria area at a great price.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smoothride2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Not much different from other Hilton Garden locations. The location is excellent; you could walk to the Galleria or any number of restaurants. The room was very clean. The staff was friendly. There was a driver who had access to a van or a Town Car to take guests anywhere within 3 miles. I am a repeat guest and a Hilton Gold member. My welcome "snack" was an almond Rocher and a cordial (Godiva white chocolate liquor) on a small silver tray, nice touch! On the down side, bed was too firm, and sheets were not soft, but bedding was all white and spotless

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bed and bed linnens
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinessGirlOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Without doubt the best hotel i have stayed in a city. Clean well furnished, great bed, great food and wonderful environment. Outdoor pool and gym. Coffee machine in room too!!!
Could not find fault. Lovelly breakfast too.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank cazinmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

We have stayed in this hotel in April for 17 days as my husband had business meetings in Houston. Me and our daughter came along.
The area the hotel is situated IN is perfect. It's In walking distance from The Galleria. The weather was great, so a little walk was nice.
Also driving from the hotel too for instance The Childrens Museum was easy, not too busy at all.

The hotelroom was good, clean, and it had a microwave and a fridge which is nice if you have a child with you.
Although I must say the rooms are very noisy. If you're in the bathroom, you can literally hear every word that's been said in the next room.
Or if people talk a little louder you can hear them in your room.

The staff is polite but not warm or friendly. It seems like they are just doing there job and basically do not really care about there guests.
They rarely smile, just tell you in a robotic way what your roomnumber is when you check in.
And as we stayed for more than 2 weeks, I pretty much saw and talked with all the people from reception.
I must say that was quite dissapointing, but maybe its different if your just there for a few days for business.
(Check in and check out was efficient and quick.)

Its the good area that makes your stay very pleasant. There are all these nice restaurants in the area. We had some really good meals on Westheimer, which is really close.
I miss it already being back in The UK.

  • Liked — The area
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank surreysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Address: 3201 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Houston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#52 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Uptown District, the Hilton Garden Inn Houston/Galleria Area hotel is surrounded by a lively mix of shops and restaurants. Our Houston hotel is steps from the prominent Galleria Mall offering excellent shopping and dining experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing