We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tombstone Art Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenwood Cemetery

Glenwood Cemetery
Ranked #28 of 290 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Includes the grave of Howard Hughes
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tombstone Art Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

It's the resting place of Howard Hughes and many of Houston's greats. My favorite monument is the one shown here but next to that is the DeBakey monument, a heart of course. Very quiet in the heart of Houston and so beautiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    20
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
york, pa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful well-kept awesome cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ok, I am not a morbid person, but I appreciate the artwork that went into monuments from the 1800's. This cemetery has a lot of Houston and Texas history and a lot of really cool monuments. I visited the grave of Gene Tierney and Howard Hughes. There are many life size monuments in different poses, and many monuments that are just beautiful. The cemetery is well maintained and like a garden. I think that reading a person's name from an old tombstone brings them back to life again, especially if they don't have any family to remember them. I loved parking and walking the cemetery to see what I would miss if I just drove. I obtained a guide from the office.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Cemetery in houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The names on the monuments read like a who's who of Houston history. Kirby, Hermann, Cooley, Hughes... you're bound to recognize many names. This cemetery is essentially a beautiful park and very much worth a visit even if you're not usually into cemeteries.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank STNTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The "Spoon River" of Houston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Glenwood Cemetery is the "Spoon River" of Houston...it's the "who's who" of Houston's elite, as well as Houston's forgotten. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL, and perfect for a stroll, bike ride, picnic, or historical walking tour. You can literally spend the day at Glenwood walking from historical marker to historical marker. Want to view the final resting place of the legendary Howard Hughes? Former Texas governor William P Hobby...buried between his two wives? The Allen Brothers? Civil War heroes? Artistic geniuses? Medical miracles? Whatever you're looking for, Glenwood will NOT disappoint! Plan to spend at least two hours here...you will want it to be for eternity.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Cemetary as art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

You have to see it to believe it. A cemetary as art. Off Washington Avenue this is how you define serenity. Maybe not for everyone, but everyone with a camers should drop by.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hermann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Cemetery also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Glenwood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing