We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!!”
Review of Beer Can House

Beer Can House
Ranked #42 of 300 things to do in Houston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Beer Can House is literally a house covered in flattened beer cans, and landscaped with marbles and rock inlaid in concrete. You can tour the house and learn about the ongoing restoration project.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

After all the fine arts, and other serious stops, this was a welcomed site to behold!! If you are in the area, a definate stop to make.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    99
    47
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Eclectic. Fun. Iconic.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We were spending the day in Houston seeing Houston sites with another couple that lives here. Not wanting to do "standard" Houston Things to Do we sought out off the beaten track fun things to do. Our first stop was the Beer Can House. It was fun- not only to see a beer Can sided house, but to walk through a modest bungalow home that raised a family. Simple, modest and humble. Surrounded by some taller home buildings that no doubt were more up to date, swanky and full of luxuries. The Beer Can house was a simpler approach to a home- and filled our heads with backyard patio ideas and decorating ideas too. Great first stop! How often do we have gems right in our own backyards that we don't take the time to enjoy and appreciate?

Helpful?
3 Thank GardenMan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unusual kitsch”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I wouldn't drive very far out of my way to see this, but if you're in the area, it's worth a look just for the wth factor. Definitely recommend watching the short video which introduces the visitor to the guy (and his wife who is kind of a hoot) who built the beer can house.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HolyBattGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Unique!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Went here on a Sat. evening but it was closed. Very Cool and something different to see. I wouldn't see a point in coming back but I would recommend a visit. Nice Photo Op as I don't think there are many Beer Can Houses:D

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Prax-Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good photo opportunity”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was on a 14day road trip with my sister and friend and we were going through Houston and found this place online. We decided to stop by, but it was closed and we were fine with that so we did a mini photo shoot. It's crazy if you look closely that every little detail is made from beer cans! This is a must see if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeatherRhiann0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Can House also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Beer Can House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing