We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average, rather disinterested staff & only two lifts in the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Ranked #60 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was thinking this might be average but too many other annoyances started to add up. For the entire hotel there are only two lifts and as such you typically end up waiting and inordinate amount of time to get to/from your room. When someone starts to use the shower in the room next door it literally sounds as if they are taking the shower on top of your head. The rooms are small. The valet parking guys are very pleasant and helpful, however, the rest of the staff, especially the reception staff were regularly disinterested and not attentive. My room was a bit dated looking. The most annoying bit though is that when I arrived into my room the duvet cover was stained and there were numerous tatty bits on it.
I will not be staying here again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Businesstravellerr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
There are newer reviews for Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

986 - 992 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

The feel of this hotel was one of a much more expensive hotel. We paid only around $65 through booking online, yet our room was spotless, the staff were very helpful, and the location was great for local bars and onward connections.

As previous reviews mention, the room was indeed small, though I honestly wonder what people expect when they pay $65 for a "small double". In any event, the bathroom was a good size, and there was room for myself, my fiancee and two large suitcases whilst being able to walk comfortably around the bed.

Coffee was good in the morning, there were plenty of sports channels showing football if you wanted to watch it (the Euros were on at the time!). The lobby was nicely decorated, the room showed no sign of needing refurbishment, and the staff were very helpful when our flight was cancelled and we needed to call airlines. Wifi wasn't super-quick, but perfectly adequate, and there are computers and printers to use for free downstairs.

Overall, a great value room, would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N_Lon_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have been staying here for years when in Houston because I like the downtown location and the staff. My colleagues stay at ritzier places and always wonder why I stay here as the rooms are small and it's not a fancy place.

You can get rooms for as low as $85-95 if you book in advance. Plus I always get a warm welcome and the staff remember my name even after a one year's absence. It speaks volumes of how well run this place is that staff stay for years. In the low wage hospitality business that's a minor miracle.

I live overseas, and they keep the significant number of packages I send to the hotel in advance of my arriva. In fact, their system of keeping track of packages is better than at higher class hotels where they always seem to end up misplacing items.

They have free bottled waters, extra blankets, irons and iron boars in the hospitality cupboard down the hall. They will even send up a yoga mat and blocks to your room! The fitness room is small but has all you need including bike & running machines and cross trainer and weights., .

Internet is free and fast and they have loads of premium cable channels for free. They have computers in the lobby you cna use and printers for printing out boarding passes.Unlike other hotels they don't block you printing PDF or Word docs.

The restaurant staff are also very friendly and make the best spinach salad I've ever had.

Same day laundry service is even available on Saturday which most higher priced hotels don't have. Everyhting is kept super clean and tidy.

I will keep coming back here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great value in downtown Houston for a comfortable 2 bedroom suite with kitchen, impeccably maintained. I enjoyed the understated elegance, the preserved details of a historical building, the proximity to the Convention Center (about a 5 minute taxi ride for $6 flat downtown taxi cab fare), and most of all the great service in all areas of the hotel! Only wish for improvement would be that it would offer some sort of spa service - there's a small basic gym though... If I need to go back to attend a meeting at the Convention Center I will definitively look at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Very affordable to upgrade to a suite with kitchenette and wide sitting areas.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lili U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed at the Club Quarters Houston twice in the last couple of months. Solid stay each time. Clean, updated rooms. Free bottled water. And markedly less expensive than most other comparable hotels in that area. Plus, it's right around the corner from the Flying Saucer. And if you're a repeat visitor, you get a discount code good for a few more bucks off the price. Self-parking is in a separate garage a half block away. But even that is reasonable - $10 overnight. Rating is based on value, not the amenities alone. This is not the Four Seasons. But it's clean, efficient, well-located, and worth the money.

Room Tip: For now, try to stay away from the rooms on the front during the week, to minmize construction noise...
Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The rooms are very small, which is true of all Club Quarters. You are in the middle of downtown for $100 - $125 in a clean room connected to a pretty good restaurant. Free bottled water, you have to go to the community closet for an iron, but there were plenty. Construction in the area. Extra charge for parking, but still a good deal. Pretty good service. You will pay more for a Best Western in downtown Atlanta (I know, that's where I'm staying this week).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MangaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We decided to stay at Club Quarters while we were in town for Free Press Summer Fest. The location could be a little shady if you walked around at the wrong time of day though. We slept wonderfully, the hotel staff were super friendly, and the Table 7 Bistro (in hotel restaurant) had a wonderfully delicous breakfast. The service at Table 7 was a little slow, but the omelette, breakfast tacos, and coffee made it worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the club size room, it was small but fit our needs just fine.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#35 of 517 in Houston
2,815 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 517 in Houston
1,937 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Houston

Address: 720 Fannin St, Houston, TX 77002-3408
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#59 Business Hotel in Houston
#89 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $92 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston is a full service hotel designed for business travelers. Our hotel is located in a beautifully restored landmark building and near all the major office buildings, as well as The Houston Pavilions, downtown's area for trendy restaurants & shopping, the theater district, nightlife, and museums. All Club Quarters Hotels provide: • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel • Instant registration and check-out • Club Living Room - an inviting lounge for working, meeting, socializing and relaxing • Free unlimited chilled bottled water • Greater security with keycard access to guest room floors • Restaurant and Bar • Fitness room with cardio equipment and weights • Meeting rooms and office space available • Guest Request Closets on every floor containing extra pillows, blankets and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters In Houston Hotel Houston
Hotel Quarters Houston
Club Quarters Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing