We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Ranked #59 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor management”
Reviewed October 2, 2007

no place to park so we had to valet, next day, my boyfriends new pair of oakleys and pradas were missing in the car!
we complained to the manager and his only reply was, "sorry, there is nothing i can do".
A good manager would try to compensate us for our loss. At least, comp a night stay or something! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filipinacowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    369
    167
    64
    74
See reviews for
87
287
164
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Club Quarters when we went to Houston for a wedding and it was perfect for what we needed. It was cheap, clean, comfortable, well located, and had some nice amenities (free purified bottled water, wifi) that most hotels charge you for. If you are looking for a place with tons of services like a restaurant, bar, spa, etc, then this isn't the place for you. But if you are just in town for a night or two for a wedding and you just need a nice comfortable, clean room, then the club quarters is perfect. I wish I could become a member and stay at some of their other hotels. The rooms are small, but updated with granite, nice beds, modern furniture, desk, and flat screen. My favorite thing was the bottled water because I hate that most hotels leave that $6.00 bottle of water in your room. Anyways, we loved the Club Quarters and will definitely be staying there again if we have to go to any city that has one.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — No self parking (other than pay lot across street)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2007

The lobby is nice and they had very nice and helpful receptionists in the morning and afternoon. Rooms are small but nice. The valet was not to be found and the receptionist had to come out to park our car. I have never been at a hotel where the front desk personel parked cars.
If you would like to stay at this hotel do not bring a car. The valet
is a big pain. At night the valet driver was asleep with the front desk person.
The hotel is quiet, clean, cheap! Great for one or two night stay.

  • Liked — bed is very nice
  • Disliked — valet parking
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RathHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Rooms looked great, but wished they had parking so we could enjoy our stay. Checked in the hotel in afternoon, came back late that night to find out there was no parking left at the hotel valet. Was told to find somewhere on the downtown streets to park which is not the safest place to leave your car overnight. We checked out immediately, along with many other hotel guest in same perdicament.

  • Liked — Nice Room
  • Disliked — No Parking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curtislm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Cheapest hotel in downtown Houston, but so worth it! The rooms are modern, though small. The food at the hotel is from Zuma, a leading restaurant in Houston. You can eat at the hotel or at the restaurant (15% discount, but beware the prices). Rooms are clean. Bedding is good, though a room for 2 people only had 2 pillows. Breakfast is not great, but there are restaurants serving breakfast nearby. Overall, great place to sleep for a night or two for the price. Why spend double to sleep elsewhere when you can sleep here for under a hundred bucks?

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2007

I made reserv at this hotel for New Years Eve, and got stuck in Lubbock in a snow storm so could not make it into Houston, and understood that we could not cancel, so tried to change the name on the reserv so that a friend could use the room, but was informed by travelocity that would not be allowed, so they called hotel and they said no also but they would refund the money, but i had to call back when the mgr was there to get the confirm # for a refund, so called back to travelocity and they called mgr and he said no.

  • Tips/Secrets — dont book here or thru travelocity
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank judysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

My friends and I just finished staying at the Club Quarters in Houston (I'm actually typing this from the lobby!) It is very nice. Free high-speed internet, very clean, and very secure. You need a room key to get in the building, activate the elevator, and of course to enter your room. The breakfast they provided was great as well. The reviews that mention it being in a bad part of town are correct, however, it seems that there is no "good" part of downtown Houston.

But, unless you are traveling alone, DON'T STAY HERE!. The rooms are by far the smallest hotel rooms I've ever seen. I read the reviews that mentioned this but didn't think much of it. We had two twin beds and there were four of us. Just having one room for four people is understandably our fault, I'm just using this anecdote to illustrate the size of the rooms. With two people sleeping on the floor, there wasn't enough room for our luggage anywhere! We had to keep it in the shower because there was literally no room on the floor.

The hotel has clearly divided what was once one normal sized room into two tiny rooms. This is evident by the 1/2 window we had that seemed to disappear behind the partition. I'm sure the people in the room next to us were looking out the other half.

Everything about this hotel is great except for the room size, which a HUGE drawback. It could work for one, but that's it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#33 of 517 in Houston
2,805 reviews
Downtown
The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#35 of 517 in Houston
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#214 of 517 in Houston
60 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 517 in Houston
455 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Houston

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Address: 720 Fannin St, Houston, TX 77002-3408
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#59 Business Hotel in Houston
#89 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston is a full service hotel designed for business travelers. Our hotel is located in a beautifully restored landmark building and near all the major office buildings, as well as The Houston Pavilions, downtown's area for trendy restaurants & shopping, the theater district, nightlife, and museums. All Club Quarters Hotels provide: • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel • Instant registration and check-out • Club Living Room - an inviting lounge for working, meeting, socializing and relaxing • Free unlimited chilled bottled water • Greater security with keycard access to guest room floors • Restaurant and Bar • Fitness room with cardio equipment and weights • Meeting rooms and office space available • Guest Request Closets on every floor containing extra pillows, blankets and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters In Houston Hotel Houston
Hotel Quarters Houston
Club Quarters Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing