We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food every time”
Review of Cafe Caspian

Cafe Caspian
Ranked #240 of 8,288 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food every time”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family and I eat here at least once a week and have never had a bad experience. The atmosphere is cozy, the outside is beautiful will flowers everywhere, and the staff is always nice. This is the only place I go for a Great Kabob other than home!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin_mousavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    20
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omer, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Persian Food!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We've been going to this restaurant for years! Everything is delicious, always! It's tempting to order too much and their tabun pita is divine, everyone is going out with doggie bags, it's hard to decide what not to eat and the portions are huge! The persian dishes are explained in the menu. Full of Persian patrons, big family gatherings as well as couples and others, very warm atmosphere. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank West_U_2005_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique and Yummy”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great appetizers...unique main dishes...nice facility. Best meal we've had in Houston in a couple of years.

Helpful?
Thank drdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Persian dining the traditional way, yum”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I liked everything from the flat bread baked the traditional way to the hummus to the goat cheese and that was just the appetizers.

Don't forget to notice the 15 foot bougainvilleas on the outside of the building.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bennedl549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A taste of delight & Persian mirage”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We make our way to Cafe Caspian about once a month or so! Needless to say that in 4-5 years the food has kept the same amazing taste, a mix of Persian charm and flavors as you enter the door and the magic carpets that decorate the place make you feel you are back in the days treated like a king with the finest. :)
Start with an excellent appetizer a plate "decorated" with feta cheese, Persian basil and parsley, sliced radishes and onions next to a fresh made bread in their own style in a traditional bread oven. Stop yourself for asking for more as you can eat that forever and be satisfied but you do not want to loose the next course which is even more full of flavors! I personally love chicken under any form like a kebab or "chungee" (chunks) marinated previously in saffron and a side of white rice topped again with more saffron - rice and butter (per request).
My party had lamb with lentil rice and dill, with a sauce that might be a mix of vegetables and tomatoes .. very tasty!! especially for people that do not like tomatoes they finished it!!
As for desert you can other opt for chai (hot tea) or some baklava or ice cream:)

I can promise you this is a very good deal in taste and price, very good service also, perfect for a date, a family dinner or special events (anniversary or birthdays)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank igonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Caspian also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Caspian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing