We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very professional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sam Houston Inn & Suites
Ranked #216 of 507 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not very professional”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I was in town with my girlfriend visiting some friends and this place was very close to their home. The rooms were very clean and seemed very well kept but when you walk into the place, there is a very strong smell of indian food. During our check in, a man came to the front and started screaming at the front desk woman. I don't know if he was a manager or owner but I did not think that was very appropriate nor professional.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuniorG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    12
    3
    8
See reviews for
13
24
5
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I made reservations online only to find out upon arrival that they had switched my room. I had reseved a King size bed with a jacuzzi only to arrive to a room with double bed with no jacuzzi. The carpet was terrible and it smelled musty inside, underneath the toilet seat was dirty and the towels shed cotton which got all over me. I ended up staying only because it was late and was unfamiliar with the area. They tell me it was mis communication. I find it difficult to be just that since my reservation was printed in black and white and the same thing is in the computer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmax01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

I just returned from my stay at Best Western Sam Houston Inn & Suites. I have to say from the beginning of my booking experience to check-out it has been extremely smooth. I would like to thank Surrinder, Nelly, Dee, and their cleaning staff for excellent customer service. I booked a block of rooms for my daughter's softball team and the experience has been terrific working with Surrinder, Hotel Manager, and Nelly. The whole team was very impressed with the size of the rooms, softness of the beds, and especially how clean it was! There are shops, malls, and restaurants right down the road, very convenient! I think the location of the hotel is great! My daughter left something rather expensive in the room and we just checked out, getting ready to get into our car, and one of the cleaning ladies waved at us from the room and showed us what she found. I found that honorable and that is something you just don't find in this day and age. For what I paid for my room and the quality of customer service I received, I will definitely return and continue to book my daughter's softball team through this hotel. Thank you Best Western Sam Houston Inn & Suites.

  • Liked — Customer service, rooms , cleanliness, location, convienence
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ShockMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

This is a 3+ star hotel. We booked a room after seeing the large chandelier in the lobby and were impressed with the tasteful decoration of the hotel - the bold and rich feel to the lobby which extended into the rooms.

Everything was done without cutting corners - the showerheads gushed water like a Texas summer storm. The walls of the tub were marble. TV, double beds, desk etc. You can see the pictures for yourself. Everything was clean and classy and the price was moderate. The front desk staff were polite and friendly. We did not get up in time for breakfast so I cannot rate it, but it was offered.

Several negatives:
Wireless internet was too slow to be practical. The bathroom smelled faintly of PineSol cleaning product.

  • Liked — rich decor
  • Disliked — it's not close to town. but is close to the horsetrack and greenspoint? mall
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamD_TravellinTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveton, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

IT is not the Ritz, but if you are looking for good quality and friendly people, this is it. Excellent location. Convienence store nearby as is a Jack in the Box. Good value for the buck. Comfortable rooms. Great service. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly service attitude
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SpiceFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Northwest/Willowbrook
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Northwest Houston at Beltway 8
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Houston-Willowbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston NW - Willowbrook
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW/Willowbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sam Houston Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sam Houston Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Sam Houston Inn & Suites
Address: 8049 N Sam Houston Pkwy W, Houston, TX 77064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 507 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sam Houston Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites welcomes you to Houston! Our beautiful newly renovated facility is designed to meet the needs of both the corporate and leisure traveler with each room offering standard features such as complimentary high-speed Internet connectivity, micro-fridge, coffee maker, full size ironing board and iron, hairdryer, spacious work desk and a 37-inch HD LCD television with over 30 channels including a free movie channel. In addition, we offer a business center (free to our guests), fitness room, guest laundry, conference room, outdoor pool, complimentary breakfast bar, and coffee each morning. Enjoy the excitement of live horse racing from late January through early May just minutes from the property. The Sam Houston Race Park also hosts concerts throughout the year ranging from genres like Country to Electronic Dance Music! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites offers excellent facilities and amenities. Our staff is eager to help create the greatest lodging experience while visiting the beautiful city of Houston ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sam Houston Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing