We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can do worse...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites
Ranked #229 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You can do worse...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

First of all, if you google the address - it will send you to the wrong place. It's actually about 2.4 miles from where navigation took me. Exit Windfern/Fallbrook off Beltway 8 to get there. The breakfast area is very small. The pool area is decent. The rooms are refurbished with new furniture, but still have an older smell and feel to them. The toilet stopped up for really no reason (if you know what I mean) and we couldn't get anyone to fix it. Overall it was clean, the people were very nice, and the location was convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peelbuhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
23
4
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groveton, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here again this year and I got a little preturbed at a small thing at check out. They charged us $1.50 a day for the safe...we didn't use the safe and to me that is a small rip off. Small but a rip off just the same. Probally will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiceFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the facility was very clean. We were very pleased with our room. We plan to go back again soon.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want. They were very accomodating. We changed our plans twice and all went w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carla9002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I usually always stay here not so much because of the hotel but because of their hospitality. Nelli was always very friendly and helpful. It was disappointing to find out she is no longer there.
The hotel itself is okay. Their breakfast could be better. Although, they are a very clean facility.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fanncee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

I was in town with my girlfriend visiting some friends and this place was very close to their home. The rooms were very clean and seemed very well kept but when you walk into the place, there is a very strong smell of indian food. During our check in, a man came to the front and started screaming at the front desk woman. I don't know if he was a manager or owner but I did not think that was very appropriate nor professional.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuniorG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

I made reservations online only to find out upon arrival that they had switched my room. I had reseved a King size bed with a jacuzzi only to arrive to a room with double bed with no jacuzzi. The carpet was terrible and it smelled musty inside, underneath the toilet seat was dirty and the towels shed cotton which got all over me. I ended up staying only because it was late and was unfamiliar with the area. They tell me it was mis communication. I find it difficult to be just that since my reservation was printed in black and white and the same thing is in the computer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmax01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

I just returned from my stay at Best Western Sam Houston Inn & Suites. I have to say from the beginning of my booking experience to check-out it has been extremely smooth. I would like to thank Surrinder, Nelly, Dee, and their cleaning staff for excellent customer service. I booked a block of rooms for my daughter's softball team and the experience has been terrific working with Surrinder, Hotel Manager, and Nelly. The whole team was very impressed with the size of the rooms, softness of the beds, and especially how clean it was! There are shops, malls, and restaurants right down the road, very convenient! I think the location of the hotel is great! My daughter left something rather expensive in the room and we just checked out, getting ready to get into our car, and one of the cleaning ladies waved at us from the room and showed us what she found. I found that honorable and that is something you just don't find in this day and age. For what I paid for my room and the quality of customer service I received, I will definitely return and continue to book my daughter's softball team through this hotel. Thank you Best Western Sam Houston Inn & Suites.

  • Liked — Customer service, rooms , cleanliness, location, convienence
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ShockMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Northwest Houston at Beltway 8
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Houston / Willowbrook
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Houston-Willowbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ashton Suites-Willowbrook
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Northwest/Willowbrook
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Houston Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites
Address: 8049 N Sam Houston Pkwy W, Houston, TX 77064-3456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites welcomes you to Houston! Our beautiful newly renovated facility is designed to meet the needs of both the corporate and leisure traveler with each room offering standard features such as complimentary high-speed Internet connectivity, micro-fridge, coffee maker, full size ironing board and iron, hairdryer, spacious work desk and a 37-inch HD LCD television with over 30 channels including a free movie channel. In addition, we offer a business center (free to our guests), fitness room, guest laundry, conference room, outdoor pool, complimentary breakfast bar, and coffee each morning. Enjoy the excitement of live horse racing from late January through early May just minutes from the property. The Sam Houston Race Park also hosts concerts throughout the year ranging from genres like Country to Electronic Dance Music! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites offers excellent facilities and amenities. Our staff is eager to help create the greatest lodging experience while visiting the beautiful city of Houston ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sam Houston Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing