We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe hopes were too high.”

Texas Land & Cattle Steakhouse
Ranked #2,036 of 8,142 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lebanon, OH
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Maybe hopes were too high.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I could not wait to try the smoked sirloin. It was okay and not very tender. I hold all chain steaks to the Texas Roadhouse sirloin. It is still the king. Service was great but it was almost empty. Overall good meal, just expected more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joby1only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    50
    43
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This Place ROCKS!!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have eaten at just about every single steak house in the Clear Lake area and this is hands down my favorite. Recently I ordered the "black and blue" combo which is a blackened steak with crumbled blue cheese on it. When my steak came, my waitress asked us me to cut into to it to make sure it was cooked to my liking. When it looked a little more well cooked than I had asked for, she immediately took it back and instead brought me a filet mignon (to make up for the error), cooked to perfection and it literally melted in my mouth.

And the best part is the pricing. You can afford to feed two for about the same price it would cost you for one person at most of the other steak houses and if you get on their mailing list, they will frequently send you discount coupons that add even more value to your visit.

I love this place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scarletflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food nice, service hit and miss”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Menu has changed recently so did not have my favourite combo. However do love the ribs although probably best to get them on a Friday as can seem a bit stale on a Saturday night. Service can be hit or miss depending on who you get but overall a very nice place to go for a meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MeggQ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have eaten here several times and always had very good food. We ate here a week ago, and were disappointed. The Margaritas were not as good as usual. I always order the spicy Caesar salad, which this time was not spicy, but tasted like a regular Caesar. The loaded baked potato was not. There was so little butter and sour cream that we asked for extra. The steaks were slightly overcooked but it wasn't worth sending them back. I'm not sure we will return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quality product spoilt by inexperienced staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The reception was muted when they realized that there was only one in the party who wanted to sit at a table and not be ushered into the bar.

The meat was exceptional, prepared as requested, but the staff showed a little insecurity with lack of knowledge of the product. When asked how long the meat had been aged for the reply was it was corn-fed cattle - not old cattle! As a diebetic I drink Diet Coke, which through the rotation of different waiting staff became full sugar coke at a top up. When asked for a change they returned the same product. This is not acceptable.

The room itself was smoky from the log fire burning in the stone built fireplace.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Land & Cattle Steakhouse also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Texas Land & Cattle Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing