We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Fresh”
Review of J Alexander's - CLOSED

J Alexander's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Westchase
Cross street: Westheimer and Wilcrest
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always Fresh”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This restarant has been in this area of Houston for a long time... They turn out an excellent meal.
Steaks , Seafood, or Chicken are always great.. I think their Hamburger is one of the best in the city..They have crispy shoestring fries.. Many times I just order their vegtable plate..which changes often. Since it serves late we eat there about 2 times a week .. not too many places stay open and serve a great meal this time of night... The interior is very pleasant and they have great sounds.. like jazz ...playing ..the bar is another place to eat and there is an outdoor..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ragusecastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    38
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1,331 reviews
795 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Great American Fare”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Atmosphere is good and quite conducive to a business lunch.

Portions are fairly large and service is good.

Quality of entree's is very good for this type of establishment

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TAMAN1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The food is as good as the service”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I never had a bad meal there. The lighting is low and the staff take their jobs seriously and do not fawn over you. There is a bar and no television in the dining area, they play jazz on the speakers and I am not a fan of it, but does not interfere with conversation, Good for adult customers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fjorthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok, but a little disappointing”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited this location while in Houston, as J Alexander's is one of our favorite restaurants in San Antonio. The building itself lacked the atmosphere and service that we are accustomed to at the San Antonio location. The service was ok, but again not what we are used to. There was a lady in the booth behind us throwing a complete tantrum over where they were seated for a while, so I think our service may have been hindered by the situation. Our server did apologize for the incident and that was appreciated, but before the incident refills were a little slow and the server had to go ask our basic menu questions to someone else and return.

We got the strip and crab cakes, which were spot on, so the food really came through for us avoiding a complete let down at this visit. However, we don't plan on returning as we much rather visit better options in Houston in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank go_peyton18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Ate here while on business. Some colleagues had been there two nights before and the waitress remembered them. We had free appetizers delivered to the table within minutes of sitting down. Very impressed.
Food we ordered was delicious - I had the Pierre Burger and would highly recommend it.

I will be back next time I'm in Houston

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebelricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexander's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing