We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Food at Goodson's”
Review of Goodson's Cafe

Goodson's Cafe
Ranked #166 of 8,288 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Sammamish, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Food at Goodson's”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Goodson's Cafe was a disaster for a party of 15. All vegetables were overcooked and had no flavor. The Chicken Fried steak, the landmark item was 85% fried and 15% meat.. How about some unfried meat and crisp vegetables? Highlite was great drinks

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Art T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    58
    35
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Southern Fried Homestyle Cooking”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with two other families after soccer game. Did drive out of our way to eat here. I grew up on this type of food and not available really in San Antonio. The appetizers were great. Fried Mushrooms were gigantic and onion rings were good. Chicken Fried Steak was tender and I loved all the extrs batter. Note, Gravy is served family style with rolls. Rolls were great. Gravy could be better. Not bad once I seasoned it. I grew up on homemade gravy so I am pretty hard to please. I had side order of sweet potatoe fries which was a full basket. They were delicious. My favorite side happened to be the baked squash. Also, I tried the Banana Pudding. It was okay. I was just happy to be somewhere that served it. The chocolate pie looked delicious. Several players ordered hamburgers. They were huge. Know that the small order of chicken fried steak is large! Overall, I loved eating here. Only complaint, I ate til I was sick!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACMilanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilgore, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness good....”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went to eat with a group of about 20 and were accommodated within a few minutes. Waitress was great. Kept our drinks and rolls coming...Food was ordered and served in a timely manner and food was great. Lots of fried food but you can ask for it grilled or baked and they are happy to cook it for you like you want. If in the area would gladly eat here again....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunni014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty Country Eating”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I do not go to Tomball, Tx but when I do I have not many options since all there is around there is Mexican food. After hearing about Goodson’s Café being a top must have in Tomball the foodie in me said I had to see what the fuss was all about.

The atmosphere is very cozy and definitely country feeling. A lot of regulars and there is a long line wait. This is a clear sign of a real good restaurant. The food plates are pretty big and can be shared. The kid’s plate is a pretty nice size as well.

Overall I enjoyed the food and next time I hear I must try the chicken fried steak.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie_LWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really good homestyle food here”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I always love coming here. I went in March of 2013 for lunch one day. I had the smothered chicken. I loved it. It was a grilled chicken breast with mushrooms and monterry jack cheese, and two sides. I had the okra, and rice. You will get a roll with your meal as well. The roll should be in a food group all its own, its pretty awesome. If you like Chicken Fried steak, this place is great for that too. The Chicken Fried Steak falls off the plate it is sooo big!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tp5970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodson's Cafe also viewed

Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Goodson's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing