We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the way to the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goode Company Seafood

Goode Company Seafood
Ranked #17 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This original Goode Company Seafood is an experience like few others. From the chrome bar stools to the original Wurlitzer, this railcar dining experience is truly a one of a kind.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“On the way to the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went there with my brother after taking care of some business in Houston. I live in the Louisiana and i have to say the food that i had was really good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank omegaman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    177
    48
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good quality but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Still waiting for a great seafood experience in Houston. Have not found it yet. I hesitate to say that it was better than Pappadeaux's but I am indifferent to this restaurant. Nothing really blew me away. Just solid seafood.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank awarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquez, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Gumbo and Shrimp Cocktail Thingy and Fresh Broiled Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Can count on seafood being fresh and well-prepared here. Gumbo is particularly good taste and broiled flounder, red snapper really fresh when I went. Eat here whenever I'm in Houston near the SW Freeway area of the Med Center

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Habadoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is essentially a high end seafood restaurant disguised as a diner. I have been eating there for years, and have never had a meal that wasn't excellent. Great service, too. I have taken friends from out of town to dinner there (from Maryland, France, Japan) and they invariably loved it, and often choose this place when they visit Houston again. Try the camapachena, the gumbo, or any grilled fish, which always comes with a cute, delicious little empanada.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PFT56067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, as usual!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a quinticential local place that a few lucky visitors are fortunate to find. My husband and I are "regulars" here and like to sit at the counter, especially the far end so we can watch the oyster shucker.
The gulf seafood is always fresh and tasty, no need to cover it up with sauces.
Saturday night I say next to a couple guys in town for business and were directed here by locals. They were blown away by the campachana and red snapper.
It is particularly crowded on week-ends, so try to go during the week.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goode Company Seafood also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Goode Company Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing