We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Curry and excellent Service”
Review of Gourmet India

Gourmet India
Ranked #1,379 of 8,181 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Curry and excellent Service”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Chicken tikka appetizer very good. Chicken jalfrezi very good. Good portions. Attentive service. Comfortable surroundings. This was the second time i'd been there and always half full so other people think the same as me. Give this place a go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
372 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent food taste and quality”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We don't usually drive 20 miles each way for lunch, but we wanted to try Gourmet India. Welcomed by at least 3 employees as soon as we stepped in. Very friendly service. Owner is very friendly and accommodating. Don't judge by the outside,(Mostly empty strip mall) Inside is clean and bright. Excellent Goat Masala, Saag Paneer, Dal, Onion Naan. We usually go to either Narin's or Taj, but this will be our new Indian buffet spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Maybe the buffet...?”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner before a nearby movie, and I like Indian. Looked on trip advisor and gave it a shot. I have reviewed a number of places, some great and some let's say not so great. I might try this place again as a lunch buffet. If so I'll update. Vegtables were good !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinstryper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Gourmet India is a great Indian restaurant, unfortunately located in a mostly dead strip mall in a mixed-use neighborhood. The food is priced right, the service is excellent and the atmosphere is good. I've used them to cater family events as well, and all in all it's one of my favorite places.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went to eat at this restaurant on new years eve. When we arrived, there were a few guests already there. As other guests have mentioned, we were a little concerned at the area, but the inside of the restaurant was nice. While the decoration might could use some updating, it is clean and the staff were nice. I explained that we were new to indian food and would like some suggestions. We wound up sharing several dishes with our friends and the experience was great. If you go, try the CHICKEN CORMA KASHMIRI and the CHICKEN SAAG. Delicious. We also tried the CHICKEN TANDOORI. It had a good flavor, but we personally liked the others more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet India also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gourmet India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing