We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local secret”

Frenchie's Italian Cuisine
Ranked #214 of 8,273 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A local secret”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The best authentic Italian restaurant in Clear lake/space center . It is one of the first restaurants in the area. The Clear lake area is centered around Johnson's Space center - most residents jobs are affiliated with it and so in the early days before other restaurants came to town - Frenchie's is the " go to place" esp for Astronauts and families. even visiting celebrities frequent this little quiant Italian restaurant. As true Italian places are - it is loud and chaotic ( it is a family business ). Sometimes you can hear them argue and talk loudly with each other and old patrons just smile and look at each other.
My husband and I go there usually for lunch . We like their salad with a special creamy dressing and their bread is so good ( freshly baked). Our favorite lunch item is the Chicken Crepe - it is soo good and decadent . Our office go there to celebrate special occasions like birthdays and etc. Anything that Frankie makes is delicious . They have another restaurant called Villa Capri and we have attended weddings there ( even just a plain pasta with no meat is delicious ! ). You can also order at Frenchie's dishes not on the menu - I ate this wonderful pasta dish at their other restaurant but it was not on the menu at Frenchie's. I described it to Frankie and he whipped it up just like that . He is so sweet and so with the rest of his sisters, brother, and rest of family . Their desserts are home made and they are delicious. They also have big portions - their salads ( entree ) are humongous !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    32
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Real Italian in Clear Lake”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Friendly, family-run restaurant. Seems a bit chaotic at first, but everything ends up fine .. it's an real Italian, of course!! We had Seafood Fra Diavolo - fantastic sauce, lots of flavor and a nice 'picante' touch, with plenty of seafood. Also the filet with mustard sauce - to die for, nothing Italian about this, but first class, and the only place I have found this dish prepared Belgian-style in Houston area. And finished sharing a chocolate mousse, great! My only negatives: (1) too heavy on the portions relative to Italy, but then this is Houston; (2) could do reservations on a weekend night, but in fairness our wait was short.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, OK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

One of the very best restaurants I have eaten at. In a shopping center on NASA Road a short drive west of the Space Center. You need to be on the westbound service road of NASA Pkwy to get to it. From the outside, it seems like such a plain place. A 1960-1970's shopping center.
Inside, tables with tablecloths and linen napkins. Photos of Italy and famous astronauts.

Wife had Manicotti with cheese; I had Fettucine with Salmon. Both came with a salad. Huge portions. The sauce was wonderful; one of those secret family recipes, I suppose. The waiter was the best. "Would you like me to answer any questions about our menu?"

One of the best meals I have ever had. Will definitely go there again if we are in Houston area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruinsooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best food in town”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Looks shabby on first glance, then you see all the famous astronauts in photos, with their amazing reviews of the place. And they weren't lying. Amazing, healthy food, and no skimping on the portion size either. And some of the friendliest people in Houston.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fio568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An excellent place to eat.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Frenchie's has been here for years - and there's a reason - reliably good food and a friendly atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchie's Italian Cuisine also viewed

Webster, Texas Gulf Coast
 
League City, Texas Gulf Coast
 
League City, Texas Gulf Coast
Webster, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Frenchie's Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing