We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Eggplant Parmesan on the Planet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchie's Italian Cuisine

Frenchie's Italian Cuisine
1041 Nasa Rd 1, Houston, TX 77058
(281) 486-7144
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 7,725 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Eggplant Parmesan on the Planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Frenchies is a small, family owned and operated Italian restaurant down the street from the Houston Space Center. Been here since all the rockets went to the moon. Frankie, the owner, is a delight. The eggplant parmesan is the only thing I ever order since its the best on the planet. Fresh baked for you even at lunch. Hot, bubbly, perfect sauce, fresh basil, served in an large oval ramekin. I eat half and take the other half home for my lovely bride.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George5169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Frankie the owner is a total sweetheart...will greet you with a smile and a hug, Known him for many years and just love his food and service...nice little place for a wonderful meal...great sandwiches at lunchtime...you just order at the counter and they bring it to you...Good home cooking..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globeseeker007
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,087 helpful votes
“Good food - generous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The food here is good and well prepared. The portions are also generous and we took a portion of ours with us because there was so much of it. There is a chalk board inside which lists the specials of the day. The place is not that large but seems to be very popular. We would return to this place again if we were in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Frenchies Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great food, generous portions, friendly service. Very easy to get to on NASA Parkway at ElCamino Real. We were there with friends and all the orders were correct and served very hot...just the way I like it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dalemariemanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Gnocchi in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was lucky to have been introduced to Frenchie's by my friend Giuseppe, who knows a thing or two about a thing or two. We dined there twice with our group and were treated to the most light, airy, succulent gnocchi I have ever tasted. These are not the typical dumplings that lay heavy on your stomach. No, these are like fluffy light cotton balls in your mouth, soft and tender and with a light alfredo type sauce to complement them. Oh, yes, we had veal scallopini to follow (also fabulous) and wonderful desserts, but you MUST have the gnocchi if you go there. Trust me, I also know a thing or two about a thing or two.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonianYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchie's Italian Cuisine also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Frenchie's Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing