We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Excellent”
Review of Fred's Italian Corner - CLOSED

Fred's Italian Corner
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: University Place
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: University Place
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I used to eat at Fred's for lunch on a regular basis years ago but had not had a chance to eat here in recent years. This past Saturday night was the first time I had a chance to eat there at night. The ambiance was excellent. It was a beautiful evening so the front doors were left wide open so the cool night air could filter inside. We were three adults and two kids. Everyone found something to their liking. It is a quiet place but even so they had the Alabama/Auburn football game on TV (no audio). If you want a place away from the hustle and bustle but not overdone, this is a great place. Strongly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant Sunday Brunch location”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The menu at Fred's expands on Sunday mornings to include Belgian waffles and eggs and bacon. My son enjoys the sweetness of the waffle piled with whipped cream and bananas and strawberries, but I prefer the traditional Fred's menu of pasta and salad. Prices are fairly reasonable for the neighborhood and the service is excellent. I recommend adding this restaurant to your post-church Sunday picks.....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank L C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food good service”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is a little diamond in the rough in a random shopping center. Fred's is a typical Italian restaurant so order meals that include the marinara sauce. The beer is a good price and the atmosphere is chill, yet it can be a good location for a date on a Friday/Saturday night. The only complaint about this restaurant is the Alfredo sauce really isn't up to par. Overall this place is a good meal for an affordable price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbdalton90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
826 reviews
646 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the Food this time”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten at Fred's many times over the years and always look forward to stopping in for lunch or dinner when in Houston. This time I was disappointed in the food yet everything else was as expected. The restaurant (including the restrooms) was very clean, the owner was present, the staff was quite professional (nicely dressed, polite, prompt), the wine selection good, and the piping hot bread a good way to start the meal. However, our salads were not very fresh (a little wilted) even though the salad dressing is so good. The spaghetti was good and cooked just right, but the sauce lacked flavor and the meatballs were not as hot (temperature wise) as we like. It may have been an off night. I sure hope it was a rarity as I want to go back to the way the food was...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantonment, FL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location for us”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn to be near MD Anderson. This place is within walking distance and the food and service are great. Not open on Sunday evening though...so our first walk was for naught. We eat here everytime we have to travel to Houston for appointments

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank glglovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Italian Corner also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing