We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great selection!”

Dessert Gallery Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #12 of 104 Bakeries in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Lufkin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great selection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is so yummy! My husband always gets the Toffeelicious, but I switch it up between vanilla, strawberry and lemon. They are all delicious! Plus, they have cupcakes, brownies, and cookies. The options are endless!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank green_eyed_mommy_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
309 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Seating but food just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was disappointed with the choices and the cake I tried was a not as fresh as I would have wanted. The coffee was very good. To compete with other similar places like the Chocolate Bar this place has a long way to go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Quite possibly the best piece of Italian cream cake I have ever had (just don’t let me grandmother read that). There was a great selection of chocolate, dark chocolate, coconut, Italian cream, etc etc. Everything was great. If you are looking for a quiet little stop in for a piece of cake, coffee, and conversation this is it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Desserts to die for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place makes the best desserts you will ever find anywhere. I pre-ordered with them [they have a website] and they either have the item delivered locally or you can pick it up at a couple of their locations. 7600 Kirby is the store we picked up at. I ordered the Lemon Vacheran [sp?] which is a pie like concoction with a merague crust and it is simply scrumptous. Then, just in case the fight for that became too intense, I ordered a Pumpkin Cheese cake, which was light and not heavily filling like some are. These two desserts made every meal a treat. I cannot say enough about the quality of their products. And they are very accomodating too. Once I had to cancel an order due to a change in plans at the last minute and they did so with no complaint or penalty. If you are ever going to Houston and have the opportunity to try them out, I strongly recommend that you do, but make sure your waistline can stand the impact. Just great desserts.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigMike60_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the best bakery I have been to”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This place is highly rated by tripadvisor, so I thought we must try this. We had the German chocolate cake and the macaroon. Overall, my husband and I did not think this was an outstanding bakery. The chocolate cake was a v big slice, but in our mind, quality was more important than quantity. It was an ok piece of cake- not spectacular and this made me wonder why other loved this place so much. The macaroon was pretty good but it still fell short after my experience at cafe nouveau in Seattle. Where is the best bakery in Houston?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poyee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dessert Gallery Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dessert Gallery Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing