We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I am in China”

China Garden Restaurant
Ranked #117 of 8,283 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
New York
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Felt like I am in China”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wanted to have chinese food and just stepped in for lunch. Food is great and I felt I am eating in China. Usually in other Chinese restaurants, they americanize the food. But this was authentic Chinese food. Service was good, although they seemed to be with less manpower. The staff was friendly and assisted in selecting the food. Do try the Hot & Sour soup and Mongolian Beef. You will enjoy it all the way

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SS0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    57
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Make sure Margie is there!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

After being greeted by Margie, it almost didn't matter what the food tasted like. She refers to herself as a "BFF of the restaurant" rather than an employee, and she makes one feel equally as comfortable. We were there on a concert night, so they had a limited menu in order to keep from having the kitchen get backed up, but it included all of the typical old school Chinese fare. I had Mongolian beef, one friend had pepper steak, and, the best was the lemon chicken my other friend got. It was delicious! My favorite, though, was the throw back egg rolls, meaning the big fat egg rolls that I used to have as a teen. It seems like Asian food has gotten so prissy these days, so some of the oldie but goodies are missing. You know, the thick fried roll instead of the thin and crispy type (which I enjoy, too, but I realized I had forgotten about the old school kind. :) Anyway, service was quick and Margie continued to stop by, and even sat down next to us for a quick chat. She kept us updated on concert info so that we didn't worry about rushing. The whole experience was fun and fantastic. I'll go back but will have to make sure I take my husband and daughter next time. Thanks, Margie!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelspoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We left almost in shock about the poor service and mediocre food. The waitress actually rolled her eyes at us at a couple of our requests (for silverware and lemon for our water). I was a waitress once and am always understanding, but the service was the worst I've ever received. The food was OK. I ordered an appletini that was tiny and watered down. When I saw the bill that I had been charged $9 for it, that was the last straw. I do not recommend that you go here. With a underwhelming atmosphere with plastic table clothes, you can do much better at one of the many other restaurants in downtown Houston.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
704 reviews
523 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“You cannot beat this for Chinese food in downtown Houston”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is one of my always stop off locations when I ma in downtown Houston for business. The only issue I had this time was the Toyota Center had an event, which brings out the event menu here and it sadly is relatively short. The hot and sour soup was great, the egg rolls top of the line, and my pork and veggies in brown sauce was tasty. I asked the dish be delivered to the table with lots of spice and sadly it had zero heat at all, but then they were busy so I let it pass. Hit this place when there is no event at the center and the selection is much better, but still even with a cut down menu this is a hot spot............

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wkrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food was great”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Food was great and they will deliver to the Holiday Inn Express hotel, near by. Service was fast also! I have ate here a couple times.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reg1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Garden Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to China Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing