We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is amazing here!”

Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli
Ranked #15 of 8,202 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Everything is amazing here!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is another must-visit restaurant whenever I'm in Houston. The owners have brought a true New York deli to Houston, and it's honestly better than most delis I've been to in NYC. The portions are huge, they have pretty much everything you can imagine (including egg creams!). Go there hungry, and plan on having leftovers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingDiva51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    239
    64
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
378 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best deli in city, state, and quite possibly country”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This isn't just the best deli in Houston, it's quite possibly the best in the country. In fact, I had a Washington, DC attorney that I met in a NYC jazz club that it was the best he'd ever had. While traditional deli fare such as corned beef and pastrami is as good as it gets, and the blintzes are the best I've ever had, their menu goes far beyond standard deli. Their seared tuna salad features sushi grade tuna and is outstanding. While I don't eat red meat, I've been told by dining partners that their hamburger is great also. Service can sometimes feel a little rushed during busy times but it's always friendly and helpful. Desserts are exceptional also. Great for breakfast, lunch or dinner -- but come early or late for lunch or expect to wait for a table.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davemh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
380 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, get ready to unhinge your jaw to eat these sandwiches!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Great deli. The sandwiches come stacked a mile high. Very close to the galleria mall. The walls are lined with interesting pictures.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank greaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yummy in the Tummy!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Yes, the place is massive. Yes, the servings are Texas-sized. BUT, the food is fabulous, the atmosphere terrific and you will not be disappointed. This is quintessential NYC deli, EXCEPT the servers are warm and helpful and NOT rude. You cannot go wrong at all with virtually anything on the menu. You can find something for everyone and every diet. Now, don't get me wrong. This isn't the place to go if you are dieting, unless you can push away from the plate when you have reached the calorie count. But if you need gluten free, you will find something, if you are diabetic or kidney patient, you will find something to enjoy. Take a step into NYC fine deli, right in the middle of Houston, Texas and you will enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootsielala55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Heart Association Should Picket this Place”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Portion control gone insane. The waiter brought out my reuben and asked me, "what do you think?" I told him I should probably call my cardiologist. He ignored us the rest of the evening. They put four slices of bread on a plate, covered it with kraut and corned beef and then - I swear - about 12 ounces of cheese melted over the whole mess.
It was disgusting. Too much food is not a service, it is a waste.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyfoutball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing