We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best gumbo outside of Louisiana”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Landry's Seafood House
Ranked #4,159 of 8,176 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best gumbo outside of Louisiana”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had some boiled crawfish as appetizer...awesome. Then moved on to seafood gumbo...amazing. It was the real reason we were there. It originates in a dark roux and is full of big shrimp, succulent oysters and chunks of crab. Mmmmm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank canfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“TOO GOOD”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We love Landry's. We have one at home in Corpus Christi and we visit it at least a couple of times a month. When in Houston or Galveston we always make Landry's a first stop.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful SEAFOOD”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I guess the name says it all SEAFOOD HOUSE....Great service and wonderful food at this location....imagine this it was clean inside as well...they take the time to keep it clean, and not a hurry hurry location...my water glass was never empty !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just your average seafood restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The seafood was "average". Nothing particularly special. The house salad dressing is very good...but the prices are a bit high.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Mrs_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not as good as they think they are”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Landry's has a good reputation so I was looking forward to going. There was plenty of choice on the menu, including day's specials and fresh fish. The food was very well prepared, but didn't really stand out from other seafood restaurants I've visited in the area. In fact the thing I commented on most was the house salad, which was great. A nice selection of wine, but to be honest I think they think a bit too much of themselves, and they either need to raise their game and really stand out from others, or drop their prices! Desserts were just too big, and so unappetizing. The waitress was attentive, but very pushy, constantly offering me more wine when my glass was almost full. So a nice meal, but not as good as they make out they are.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landry's Seafood House also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Landry's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing