We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual Mexican spot in Houston”

El Tiempo Cantina Washington
Ranked #29 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great casual Mexican spot in Houston”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Recently ate at El Tiempo with business partners while in Houston. Overall great experience - loud, fun atmosphere, great margaritas, chips and salsa were awesome, and my favorite...we shared a large platter of fajitas, ribs, quail, and shrimp with all of the trimmings - guacamole, rice, beans, etc. Amazing and such a great way to share a meal. Would definitely come again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jzemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    75
    37
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
316 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best beef fajitas & quail in Houston”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Eight family members celebrated a birthday at El Tiempo's on Washington Street and were served the best beef fajitas in Houston. We also loved the grilled quail, queso, guacamole, hot sauce & margaritas. The place was buzzing with customers. Our servers kept the chip bowls and water glasses full. It's a fun place to party with lots of menu items. Be sure and have an order of sopapias before paying the tab!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Number1green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant, strong margaritas”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

El Tiempo (Richmond location) is one of my favorite restaurants, and I'm never disappointed when I go. It can get crowded on weekends, but we usually grab a margarita while we wait. And the margaritas are nice and strong! Fajitas are great - love the flour tortillas. We usually get beef and chicken, but you can get shrimp and lobster tail fajitas as well. Always have leftovers.

Complementary valet, so have some cash on hand for a tip. And don't forget to grab some of the chocolate-covered dinner mints on the way out. We always get a handful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethanyfarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The food was good the value was low”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food tasted very good and the atmosphere was great. The decor was interesting but still seemed like any Mexican restaurant. The item prices were pretty high and really did not seem worth the money. The place was packed though so they can get away with it. There is limited parking so make sure to bring some money for tipping the valet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MRutherford1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
279 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrific tex-mex”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I love everything about this place. The food is awesome, I've never had a bad meal at this place. The staff is way cool & attentive. The crowd is always good looking at the Richmond location.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Runnin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tiempo Cantina Washington also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Tiempo Cantina Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing