We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tiempo Cantina

El Tiempo Cantina
5602 Washington Avenue, Houston, TX 77007
(713) 681-3645
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 7,725 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I took her little sister their for dinner; we thought it was delicious. We started with the house chips and salsa. Her little sister had gotten the Charro Plate which consisted of a beef taco, a pork tamale, and a beef enchilada. I ordered the chicken enchilada and my wife had gotten the Allegro Plate which consisted of a cheddar cheese enchilada, pork tamale, and a flaunta. It was all very filling. All dishes came with rice and beans. For dessert we shared a Tres Leches. Yummy! (what her little sister said after she took her last bite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This restaurant is a huge spectacle that seems to cater to tourists, but we loved it and spent two hours there for lunch. The food is delicious and they appear to do quite a take-out business, so maybe locals like it too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seattle1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best Margaritas I ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was a regular at El Tiempo on I-10 before they had to shut down for the freeway expansion and then became a regular at the El Tiempo on Washington. Consistently, for the last 12 years, they have been my favorite Mexican restaurant in Houston. Service is great, the food is supperb and the Margaritas are unlike any you can find, anywhere. Although a bit crowded, waiting for a seat can be a good experience with the Margaritas and the munchies.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PCFViana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My niece and I ate here last Friday night as it is her favorite place. I was not disappointed! I had a fried avocado stuffed with chicken and it was fabulous. I've never even seen an entree like this before. Very efficient service and quick seating. Valet parking is available which we had to use because there aren't that many self parking spaces.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dozagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Tex-Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I enjoyed the food here very much! The food is amazing and the portions are very large! It came to our table hot and prepared perfectly!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smilinva2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tiempo Cantina also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Tiempo Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing