We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”

El Tiempo Cantina Washington
Ranked #29 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
721 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Found this on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. This was a great place even though the prices are a bit steep. Had the enchiladas and hubby had the Las Vegas Combo. There was so much food we could not eat it all!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RockNCreekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    75
    37
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The best fajita's I've ever had!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I grew up in Houston & if you don't like fajitas from anywhere you will love them here. They are filet mignon not just regular old beef fajita's. They are kinda pricey, but worth it. Margarita's aren't bad either.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 4everTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“That's what I'm talking about”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

In a city known for great Southwest, Tex-mex and Mexican I was starting to think I was going to leave disappointed, but not so. As soon as I walked in I knew this was going to be the place, the bar was full, the joint was noisy, and I had to wait at the bar for a table. Did I mention this was a Wednesday night? Thankfully one of the barmen, Santos, took excellent care of me (even though I couldn't get him to smile until I took his picture with Stella). This is one of those high energy places that is fun to go to and has really great food. When I got a table Stella took great care of me even though the place was really crowded. This is a good one, give it a shot when in Houston.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Safetydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“awesome mexican food and atmosphere...”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We looked on Tripadvisor to find a decent mexican restaurant in Houston, and we were not disappointed. It's a large restaurant with a load of atmosphere! Had the best jumbo shrimp and steak fajitas! The beef enchilada tasted better than it looked on the plate. Service was a bit slow but friendly. Saw waiters standing around chatting amongst themselves, not a good look when you are waiting to be served. The price paid is definitely worth it for the food and ambience, but service could be improved.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank pepe_of_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Being from Minnesota I take advantage of great Mexican food when I have the opportunity. This place is certain not a disappoint. Some may find it a bit pricey for dinner, but I considered it well worth it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tiempo Cantina Washington also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Tiempo Cantina Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing