We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good BBQ”
Review of Pappas Bar-B-Q

Pappas Bar-B-Q
Ranked #3,001 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
261 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

While I liked the brisket better back at the old Luthers locations (pre-Pappas takeover), what they offer is still very tasty. The service is also pleasant and the sides we ordered were pretty good. The mac & cheese is very cheesy- which is a good thing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HouCuseChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We picked out this BBQ instead of the others given how much we liked other Pappas restaurants. Also, we looked at the menu online and it looked like a great selection of meats and sides. We ordered about one of everything on the menu. The best thing we ate was the chicken. It was moist and had good seasoning. Everything else fell short. The BBQ sauce was very vinegary, no sweet or heat to offset it. There are no other sauces so if you don't like vinegar sauces it won't be good. All the other meats were a little dried out. The sausage was good but ribs, brisket were dry. The yams were too sweet. I would recommend other places like Rudy's.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyM223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
722 reviews
564 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Good Ribs”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very casual restaurant - you walk up and order and carry your food to the table. The ribs (pork or beef) are very good. Also enjoyed the beans and coleslaw.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMGTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Good Ribs and Moist Brisket, this place is easy in and out and spotless to boot, the staff is friendly and welcoming as well. I knew I was in the right place when I saw all the Houston Police and Sheriff's cars in the parking lot, it was either a raid or really good food, have no fear it was the food they were there for. Pappas BBQ also has great side dishes, and even a few you might not expect, oh yeah save some room for Desert, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KARO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The original was the very best”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Still good but nothing could be as good as the original that was Sonny Looks at one time. The beef is the best you'll find anywhere and their stuffed baked potato is beyond great. Cheesecake w/cherries - yes!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappas Bar-B-Q also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappas Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing