We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steakhouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pappas Bros. Steakhouse

Pappas Bros. Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Pappas Bros. Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Chimney Rock & Fountain View
Houston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is one of the best steak houses in Houston. It is pricey but the food is out of this world. Everything tasted so good. The atmosphere was so romantic & quiet. Everyone was so nice & the service was excellent. I will be going back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    241
    60
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
721 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“This is it! The world's number 1 steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is very expensive, make no mistake, but you get what you pay for. Quite simply I have never eaten a better steak or experienced better service anywhere. There are so many good steakhouses in Houston, and I have been fortunate to sample many of them, that I thought I had probably seen the best. I was wrong. Pappas Bros leaves them all standing! Try the onion ring stack to accompany your steak...it is colossal in every sense of the word.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You cannot go wrong here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Awesome perfectly cooked steaks and seafood, made the Exact way I order it which is "Pittsburghed but Rare"--always consistent food, their crab mac and cheese is bar none to anywhere else. It is pricey, but well worth it. It also gets crowded and no one seems to complain, the crowd is well behaved and the staff is of the utmost professionalism you'll find just about anywhere here in Houston.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wetever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Another Memorable Meal at Pappas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just had dinner at Pappas Steakhouse to celebrate my husband's birthday. We also dined here last year for his birthday and he requested this place once again. As always service was great. From the hostess to the busboy, everyone just seems so warm, friendly and just so welcoming.

For dinner we had the ribeye special, we split a caesar salad, wedge potatoes and the delicious creamed spinach. It was a fantastic and satisfying meal. Our waiter Austin was knowledgeable, friendly and quick. Nice that we had a complimentary birthday dessert.....till the next time. We love this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great steak, but slightly overpricd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went for a meal with my husband on a Sat night - the service was fantastic and the atmosphere good. Didn't have a starter, and although we'd planned on having dessert we were too full after the main course to manage one! The steaks were beautifully cooked, but at c.$45 each you'd expect them to be. Sides (truffle fries and wild mushrooms) were okay, but slightly underwhelming.

Overall, although I had a lovely meal, I won't be rushing back. With all of the restaurants that Houston has to offer this just seems a little overpriced for the overall meal quality, and no amount of wonderfully attentive service can make up for that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travels_ahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappas Bros. Steakhouse also viewed

 
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappas Bros. Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing