We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud but good food”

Pappas Bros. Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Pappas Bros. Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Chimney Rock & Fountain View
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loud but good food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food is wonderful - apps through dessert. My only complaint is that when it is crowded, which it is often and deservedly so, it is very loud and kind of takes away from the experience. Another complaint is their wine list is often out of date - you order a wine of one vintage and they bring you a later year, saying they ran out of what you ordered. It's understandable given how big the list is, but at the prices they're charging you'd think they would take more care with the list - maybe have an insert or something. Heck, just handwrite it on all the lists; I'd rather that than get the wrong wine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner8815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    253
    65
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
291 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and service”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Went with a group of 15 All Star Weekend and had the wine room which was superb. Everyone was delighted with the food and service. I had the three peppercorn steak which was very good. Will be back when I am in Houston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkaemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I went here for our 25th anniversary. We made reservations and told them of the occasion. They seated us at a table with a little extra privacy and the staff made sure to acknowledge our celebration. Everything about the steakhouse was top notch. The service was perfect, not too overbearing and not too infrequent. The wine list is almost overwhelming but the sommelier helped us pick the perfect wine for the evening. Our meal was done perfectly with the our steaks cooked to the exact temperature we requested. The lobster macaroni and cheese is an phenomenal side dish. Its a great twist on a classic comfort food. Our dessert was delicious and decorated to commemorate our anniversary. Pappas Bros. Steakhouse is known for their quality of food and service and they did not disappoint.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
272 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had the best steak of my life. It was amazing, flavorful, cooked perfectly and just delicious. The restaurant had a great vibe and was incredibly busy. The creamed spinach was also amazing. The staff was also great

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
171 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great bar, attentive but not intrusive service, knowledgeable wine staff, and great steak. I'm not really sure what else you could ask for in a restaurant. I was a little disappointed that we had a 7:15 p.m. reservation and didn't get seated until nearly 8 p.m., but they made up for it by offering our table of 8 some appetizers on the house. Definitely give this place a try if you like steak!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bus_traveler_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappas Bros. Steakhouse also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappas Bros. Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing