We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to start our trip to Texas!”

Pappasito's Cantina Katy Fwy
Ranked #169 of 8,283 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Thornville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice way to start our trip to Texas!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The first place our son took us when we got off the plane was to Pappasito's Cantina for some real tex-mex food. The marguaritas were big and very good, the entrees were very tasty and well-prepared. Pappasito's salad was HUGE!!!!!!! And delicious!! Place is nicely decorated and cheerful, and busy even in mid-afternoon. Service was super and quick. Since we had never had real "tex-mex" before, we had nothing to compare it to but we liked it all very much. We will definitely go back if in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Queeniedsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    94
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Busy and noisy but lovely food and great service”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my night at Pappasito's although it was very busy and extremely noisy. We had a 45 minute wait for a table, but were able to sit at the bar with where we enjoyed delicious cocktails and complimentary nacho chips and dips.
There were lots of large groups as well as couples and families and quite a few people celebrating birthdays. I enjoyed watching the staff make a great fuss of the children celebrating their birthday where they sang a special Pappasito's birthday song to them.
Once seated we were served promptly and the food came quickly despite the restaurant being so busy. All the dishes chosen by our party were delicious but huge portions, as I have now found is standard in Houston. We were given several boxes in order to take our food home which provided us with a lovely lunch next day.
A really enjoyable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
“Great Mexican”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Pappasito's has great food and everything is always so fresh. It's definitely higher priced Tex-Mex, but the quality of everything is amazing. Try the steak and shrimp. Also the fajitas are amazing. You won't regret it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBear1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have been visiting Pappasito's for many years now. They have stayed fairly consistent over the years and keep up the good service and food you expect from the Pappa's chain of restaurants. They have some of the best red sauce and tortilla chips in town and their Fajita's are excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonfo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fresh food. Great servíce by our waitress Christine. A fiesta in your mouth!!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Went last Night . It was pouring raining and we though because the place was pack we will way a long time. We were in our table in 10 minutes. We order Large Beef and Shrimp Fajitas with hot tortillas .Delicioso!!! Our Server Christine was wonderful to all our needs. She recomended the tres leches dessert. Love it . We will be back. Best Mexican Food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappasito's Cantina Katy Fwy also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappasito's Cantina Katy Fwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing