We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good choice for brunch!”

Pappasito's Cantina
Ranked #26 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Gretna, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a good choice for brunch!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We love their salsas - and I may be addicted to their Mexico City Chicken Soup - it's enough in one bowl for three meals!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuJuHooDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    131
    38
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere - good food”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went for lunch, the food and drinks were tasty. If you're looking for five star service or dining - go somewhere else. This is a great place to hang out, let loose and enjoy tex-mex food. There's a party atmosphere, and the wait staff looked like college kids. We had the table side made guacamole and the tacos and the filet mignon & stuffed shrimp fajitas. Frozen drinks all round made the strolling guitar players tolerable. All and all - it was fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceclarke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply terrible”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed with this restaurant. I have been to this one along with one on Gulf freeway and also one in the Dallas area several times and it wasn't too bad. But this time the wait was long. The service was terrible. The wait staff were not attentive. To top it off either our server or the kitchen forgot to put my food in with the other entrees. The manager came over and apologized and offer to bring me something to eat so I wouldn't be sitting there while the others ate. I turned him down because I just wanted my dinner. He did comp my meal. But the point here is no attention to detail. The food wasn't very good. And overpriced for Tex-Mex food. There are better restaurants out there. Needless to say I won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very bad night!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived, at what friends told us was the best Mexican Restaraunt. First it was entirely to loud. My wife and I had talk loud just to here each other. Second the service was terrible. Waiter brought me a beer with a cold glass and salt on rim. She pured the beer in glass very fast, which foamed up to the salt and foamed even worse. She sat glass down on the table and beer was running all over table. 5 minutes later she returns with a hand full of napkins to wipe it up which I already used my place napkin to do so. The salsa was bad, order some special dip she told us to get and it was not hot and tasted terrible. Our main meal was even as bad. We were in the place for about 45 minutes tops. After all the frustration she had the gall to ask if we wanted desert. We ask for ticket and will not come again if we're in Houston down the road.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSFDDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“More expensive than typical TexMex but really good”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great food that's a little bit more "special" than your run of the mill TexMex place. Great margaritas and great salsa.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappasito's Cantina also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappasito's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing