We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta go before we travel”

Pappasito's Cantina
Ranked #25 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gotta go before we travel”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We love this place and have to have our "Mexican fix" there before we travel. We love the "Pappasito Salad" with barbequed chicken and they have the best queso anywhere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ccoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    128
    35
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very good food. We had the family fajitas (steak and chicken, served 5) after appetizers and margaritas. Lot's of very good food and reasonable price. They don't take reservations, but we called ahead and they put our name on the list. Our table was ready in 5 minutes. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrPeter_144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“laoud & with MSG”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

wedined in this Restaurant several time and had a burning sensation on my mouth, figured it out that their spice mix contains MSG ( chemical enhancing substance )which is a no -no.by board of health.
ambiance is good, chips & salsa good, but can not stand the loundness and chemical added enhanced food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galveston, texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“THE BEST TEX-MEX IN HOUSTON AND THAT'S SAYING SOMETHING”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wonderful Mexican food. Yeah, I know it is a chain, but this place is great.
The pork tamales are fantastic. The traditional mex plates are excellent.
Skip the semi-cool sounding cantinas - go here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalvestonJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do the WAVE”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Pappasito's is my go-to comfort food. The nachos have thick, crisp chips with real cheddar cheese and fresh, raw jalapenos (by request). I always get the table-side guacamole to go with the nachos - so much better to watch them prepare it from freshly cut avocados. The margaritas are delicious and the WAVE is even better if you're in the mood for a frou-frou fun drink. Half frozen margarita and half sangria swirled with a fruit embellishment. For lunch I like the margarita lime salad with chicken strips and tortilla strips. Everything served here is huge, so be prepared to take home leftovers. I can always get dinner with enough left over for lunch the next day. Most locations are always packed, but be especially patient at the South Loop location near Reliant Stadium. And during Rodeo - don't even think about it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappasito's Cantina also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappasito's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing