We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retried Beans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanish Village Restaurant

Spanish Village Restaurant
Ranked #2,922 of 8,114 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Museum District
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Retried Beans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great Local Flavor with the best refried beans ever. Plus strong margaritas! You will enjoy the quirky decor, holiday lights and free pralines with your bill. Wonderful service and consistency of food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doodah52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
pistolpete
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family Tradition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited this Houston Icon for the first time in a year or so. It is a family owned restaurant that his been in business since the 1950's and it, and the décor/furnishings, don't look to have changed much, if at all, over the years. They have a fairly extensive menu of the standard Mexican fare but what draws us is the wonderful fried chicken dinner. It consists of four large pieces of tender juicy chicken fried to a crunchy perfection and it comes with a small salad and your choice of a baked potato or fries. Oh, and don't forget to order one of the wonderful margaritas either on the rocks or frozen. We will be returning soon. Closed Sundays.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pistolpete7255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Top, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BAD!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was SO disappointed when I went to this place 9/14/13 because it was so near my daughter's apartment. Let me count the ways:
1. Service - awful, five people at two tables other than mine. I could not get the attention of the waitress to fill my small water glass.
2. Margarita - tiny, in a martini glass - 3 or 4 oz?
3. Food - asked what the waitress recommended but could not get a straight answer so I chose the beef enchiladas. Bad choice, they use corn tortillas (ok I prefer flour) but there was no meat in the first two inches. That was not the worst part, that was the burnt taste of the sauce???
4. Chips - ok, sauce was not tomato based - marginal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Destination for over 35 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant has been Family ran and putting out excellent authentic Tex-Mex food and Great Margaritas since the '60's. My first trip there was in 1978 and I have been coming here ever since. Even when I lived out of town, when I came home to Houston, the first palce I went to eat was Spanish Village! The Medina Family presents very consisitent and fresh plates everytime. The Beef enchiladas are the Best in Houston w/ the rich carne gravy , onions, and gooey cheese. Watch out, very hot plate! No microwave here. Beef tacos always tasty w/ Mexican spices, yet not greasy. Guacamole salad the best, also. No need to dummy up the dish when you use the very freshest ingredients. Throw in a couple of Margaritas on the rocks w/ salt, and you have the perfect visit. I always leave Happy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently good - real food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Off the beaten path, but worth finding. This is real Tex-Mex, run by a fine family and warm staff. It is consistently good, and does not profess to do trendy or new things - they do what they do and they do it well. We go back again and again and are never disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank losvegas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanish Village Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Spanish Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing