We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and outstanding Christmas decor”

Taste of Texas Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 8,246 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food and outstanding Christmas decor”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Taste of Texas is a family favorite especially during the Christmas season. The rib eye and filet are excellent. There is a nice salad bar that is noteable for its' fruit, cheeses, and 3 types of fresh bread. The Christmas decor is memorable, with great photo ops inside and out. They give you a free dessert and commemorative photo on your birthday. The wait time between Thanksgiving and Christmas usually exceeds one hour.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,966
    514
    136
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Natchez, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Buttery Prime Rib”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Always a good meal here. It is top notch on every item, but expensive. The wait staff always ask if you are there celebrating something, because it is a special occasion place. I've been lucky enough to go on business expense several times. Everything is always good. Favorites: filet, prime rib, salad bar, and bread.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank batsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, more than you can eat”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Excellent salad buffet; friendly, family but busy/noisy atmosphere (compared to others like Pappas' bros).

Steaks are huge; you can go in the back to select your own (esp. for first time visitors).
Good value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
1,510 reviews
612 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 733 helpful votes
“Salad, starters, steaks, shrimp, sides, sweets all top notch”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went to the Taste of Texas for a team lunch. Bit of a treat. They are so popular that they normally do not take reservations and also do not really have separate dining rooms, but for us they had prepared a long table for about 20 people in a narrow corner of the restaurant which did give us the privacy we preferred for the event. The food was just outstandingly good, and the service very much on top of things in a relaxed way with special attention for newcomers to the restaurant including lots of explanations and a photo taken with cowboy hats and bandana for keeps. Salad, starters, steaks, shrimp, sides, sweets all top notch.

I have not been to all steakhouses in Houston, which is nigh imposible, but I am glad to say this is surely the best one I have been to (and I have been to some good other ones too).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fiasco Dinner!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

After fighting to get a parking spot and waiting 1H15 Min for a table. My wife and I we wanted to relax and enjoy a good dinner, We ordered for her a Tuna Steak with Broccoli and baked potato.
The Tuna was a very small steak undercooked and the food was served after 30 Min we ordered. This place looked like a zoo! I have to say the waiter was nice. The chocking fact is that plate was poor and overpriced at $39.00. The experience was not too pleasant! Probably is worth to get a beef steak than fish in this place!
John C

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waterguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Texas Restaurant also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taste of Texas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing