We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect! Special attentions if visiting from outside Houston”

Taste of Texas Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8,203 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply perfect! Special attentions if visiting from outside Houston”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a great time. We arrived at around 8:00 pm on a Sunday and didn't have to wait for a table. Our waiter was perfect. He took us to the kitchen to see and select the meat we had for dinner. There is a huge salad bar with fruit, cheese, bread and of course many different salad options. The meat was superb! The side dishes were huge!!! We mentioned that we were visiting from outside the US. The waiter brought us Texan hats and took us a picture. I thought that he would later bring a picture and offer it if we paid for it. Instead, he brought a picture for each of us and charged us nothing. A very nice souvenir. The price was fair for the quality of the food and the service. Definitely, a place to go back in Houston.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank V-TRAVELLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,928
    500
    131
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super steak”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Warm welcome, and all got cowboy bandanas. Good Texas atmosphere, and good parking.
We had various steaks, and all were excellent. A little high price, but quality food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimHoelHalvorsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top Plate”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

One of the best steaks I've ever had, and worth every dollar. The food was prepared to perfection, the servicer was attentive, and a complementary birthday desert and photo for our son made for an outstanding evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeepClimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, great service”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Headed here for dinner for our first night in the US and Texas

Steak (20 oz T-Bone) was superb, delicious and tender. Salad bar was fresh with a huge range of options. A great spread of desserts, I had the ice cream which was good.

Service was excellent. A wonderful experience, we even got a complimentary photo with cowboy hats neck scarves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
164 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent steak and atmosphere, but horribly expensive”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The decoration is very nicely done, inspired by the ancient far west but yet comfortable. The meat is incredible, but unfortunately it is also very expensive (between 30 and 50 dollard for a steak)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ramdam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Texas Restaurant also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taste of Texas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing