We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best steaks in the world!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Texas Restaurant

Taste of Texas Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 7,982 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best steaks in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was in Houston on a business trip and was looking to whet my appetite with some authentic Texas steaks. I visited Taste of Texas on the recommendations of my local colleagues. There was no waiting time to get in as I was warned, though I went at around 1 PM on a weekday. I ordered a Texas T-bone 20 oz and while I was waiting for it to be served, our server Laura suggested I try Jumbo Lump Crab cake - this is a heavenly generous serving of crab meat(no shell) mixed with Parmesan, Cheddar and Provolone cheese. Remoulade sauce and lemon are added for extra flavor. I devoured it and ordered another. The T-bone arrived a little later and was cooked to perfection. There is a salad bar but I wasn't interested as I was in a very carnivorous mood. The staff are very friendly, polite and warm even on a busy day. The restaurant has lots of Texas culture - cowboy clothing, guns, other hunting equipment which also included some stone age stuff, saddles, lassos and even a stuffed bear. I didn't get a free red bandana being a first time customer but was least bothered. I visited again the next day and had the crab cake, jumbo grilled shrimp and a Center Cut Filet 10oz steak. The experience was only better than the previous day. This place is a must visit for every foodie especially steak lovers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hudson m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,670
    454
    116
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place was highly recommended so we were really looking forward to eating here. The salad bar is really really good. The steak? Ok, nothing extraordinary ..... but then I'm not a steak girl

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolBHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious steaks....go later at night to avoid wait time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went over the Christmas break 2012 after having read many many reviews. We called ahead to get an estimated wait time (was told 45min to 1.5 hrs) and got there around 8:30pm. Thankfully we were seated within 20 minutes which was very surprising but I guess a lot of people cancel/leave upon seeing the wait time. But that 20 minute wait could have been a lot longer and we would not have minded. They have free drinks, popcorn & wifi in their waiting area with lots of seating available. The waiting area seems like part of the experience itself.

Our server (asian guy, forgot his name) was super entertaining and knowledgeable about his steaks. If you don't know what you want, I'd recommend asking your server. I ended up getting hte 6oz fillet with the garlic sauce. He even took us to the back room where we got to pick out our own steaks. The steak was a perfect size for me especially with the high end AYCE salad bar avaialble.

Overall, great experience (free red bandanas for first time customers), delicious food and a good family memory. It is a bit pricey but it was not a normal every day meal for it so it was okay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yangee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If you want THE BEST go to Taste Of Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Absolutely the best steaks, service, and salad bar that you will find in Houston and perhaps all of Texas. High quality steaks that are cooked to perfection and a diverse salad bar with all the appropriate sides. They only take reservations for large parties so you may have to wait, however not long, as the restaurant is large.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Food is really good, homemade bread, great salad bar, amazing beef and a great service. All attendants are very well trainned.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PGrabowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Texas Restaurant also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taste of Texas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing