We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service”

Texas Land & Cattle Steak House
Ranked #1,055 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Ate here on recommendation of hotel staff. Food was very good and reasonably priced. However, service was very slow. They were not very busy and plenty of open tables, but everything was slow. If you are not in a hurry, this would be a great place to eat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kristen3218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    6
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Recommended by hotel staff.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This restaurant is just in front of the Holiday Inn, so very convenient and good. All of the staff was very nice and helpful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very good and affordable”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Nice steaks and salads at a very reasonable price , with a good wine list , we went there 2 times in 4 days. pleasant and helpful staff. A good place for a good steaks at night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bzh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“not what it used to be...”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We are longtime customers of this restaurant and have always been pleased with the value and quality. We've been out of town for a while, so haven't visited since they changed the menu. Unfortunately, tonight's visit will likely be our last. First the positives...Josh was an excellent waiter, taking care of special requests and pacing things perfectly. The steaks were cooked exactly to order, including an extra rare which came out as it should. Now for the issues. The bread is not the crusty sourdough we remembered so fondly. The wonderful spinach/artichoke dip that we loved so much has been replaced by a spinach dip so watery and bland that it was completely unappealing. We asked for some jalapenos to spice it up, which Josh quickly brought, chopped up and ready to mix in. That helped the flavor, but not the consistency. Salads came next, no issues there. When the steaks arrived, we were again disappointed. The filet came on a plate with one cold onion ring and nothing else, looking less than exciting for the $22 price tag. It was an average filet, without the seasoning or wood grilled flavor that we remember from many previous visits. The accompanying baked potato was undercooked, and a fourth of it was too hard to eat. The porterhouse was tough, and the mushroom topper was a joke. Seriously, charging extra for a sprinkling of canned mushrooms? (And yes, when they are paper thin and taste of the tin from the can, we know they are not fresh.) The grilled asparagus were cold and tough, most of them stayed on the plate. A manager came by and asked how dinner was, and we had a lengthy discussion with her about our impressions. She seemed somewhat defensive and told us that the restaurant is usually full and most people love the new menu. Sadly, we find that the new direction this restaurant is taking is not toward the positive, and cannot in good conscience recommend it. We were told the new concept is "casual plus", and without having a definition for this term, cannot comment on how successfully they have captured it, but it is definitely a far cry from what it used to be. If you liked it before, you will probably not care for it now.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txtravelbug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“so disappointed!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had just left the movies and were hungry. I was in the mood for a good steak. It didn't happen here. I ordered the sirloin med/well. My steak came to me all sliced up, like a child was being served. It was pink all over after I clearly asked for med/well. I didn't get the one onion ring as garnish? The salad was very bland, The baked sweet potato was actually the highlight of the entire meal and it wasn't all that. It just wasn't worth complaining. This restaurant has sadly gone down. The place is pretty dirty in the light of day. The carpet is stained and not clean. It was all I could do to get out of there. I guess I will need to travel further down I-45 to get the quality steak I was looking for. At least the bill was reasonable, but I would gladly have paid top dollar for a top dollar meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetsettingtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Land & Cattle Steak House also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Texas Land & Cattle Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing