We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not go back”

Three Brothers Bakery S Braeswood
Ranked #62 of 93 Bakeries in Houston
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would not go back”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I walked into the bakery and there was a large display of nice looking pastries to chose from. I purchased a variety of pastries for an open house. Unfortunately, I quickly discovered why the bakery was so "stocked". The pastries I purchased were old and stale. They keep pastries around until they sell is my assumption. In addition, their prices are high. I would of not of minded their high prices if their pastries were fresh and tasty. But, I ended up throwing them away.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yicelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I stopped by on my way through Houston and was glad I did. My grandfather brought cookies, bagels etc since the 70's. When I walked through the door it was like being a kid again. I even had some bagels sent to my mom via fed ex. Great staff and even called to verify my order was received.

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best bakery in Houston”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The best fresh baked breads, rolls, bagels and definitely sweets. Happy they opened a store by Memorial City. They're becoming a regular Friday lunchtime stop to load up for the week.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes in Houston”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Every time I go to Three Brothers I tell myself I am going to try something else but I always end up with cupcakes! I cannot say if the cakes or breads or pastries are good YET. But the cupcakes are hands down the best in Houston! One of the things I like about this bakery is there is always product in the cases. I hate going to a bakery late in the afternoon and having nothing to choose from, Three Brothers does not disappoint. Their cupcake cake is as yummy as the icing which is a hard combo to find because it is usually one or the other but not both. I cannot even say which flavor is the best, love them all. Each cupcake is as beautiful as it is delicious. Staff is always friendly and patient as I take my time to make my selection. That is another big issue I have with bakeries, when there is a large selection and you want to look at everything and the staff gets huffy, not so at Three Brothers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXCtrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Did not follow instructions, tasteless cake”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

When we were shopping for our wedding cake, we did not care for the tastes and the smells of this place, so we went with Julie's Cakes and were very happy with our choice. When I needed a rush cake order recently, unfortunately Julie's Cakes was closed on Monday and I decided to give Three Brothers Bakery another chance. I should not have. I gave explicit instructions on the decorations - I wanted a half white half chocolate, all white frosting with Happy Birthday and small emblem on top. I was so disappointed when I opened the box. They added really horrible swirls and designs, which I did not request. To top it off, the cake, the filling, the frosting tasted just terrible. A waste of $70. I will never go back to this place again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewerNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Brothers Bakery S Braeswood also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Three Brothers Bakery S Braeswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing