We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good comfort food”

Treebeards Restaurant
Ranked #547 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Neighborhood: Downtown
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good comfort food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

A comfortable place that is easy to eat by myself. You go thru a cafeteria line and can pick out what you want. Bread is available in the dining area. I ate out on the balcony and was entertained by everyday activity in the park across the street.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank plains16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Round Top, Texas, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favorite”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

best value in Houston - my favorite for 30 years. Most dishes below $8, three locations, mostly lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Gumbo”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's an experience to go there. Treebeards is one of a few restaurants in town that I bring out of town guests. The atmosphere is good and they have great food (love the gumbo--and good gumbo is hard to find in Houston). I also know that they do a lot for the community, which is a major plus in my book.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wowee_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best of comfort food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is only open for lunch on weekdays... so it's a good spot if you just got out of jury duty :) or if you work downtown!

Hopefully you'll be there on a day when they have macaroni and cheese. Try not to eat too much :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ammille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Only place in town that is always good”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Treebeards on the street and in the tunnel are great. We use them as our lunchroom. There can be a line at noon but it is well worth the wait. Take out is convenient and their catering service is second to non. Anyone can find something excellent to eat for lunch. Highly recommend this most wonderful establishemnt!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treebeards Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Treebeards Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing