We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great welcome”

Bayou City Seafood & Pasta
Ranked #352 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food and great welcome”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just thought I'd share. Visited Houston for a week and stayed near the galleria. Had a bit of a drive around looking for something different. Decided to try Bayou. Good decision.

Food portions are huge, gumbo to start was full of crab and seafood and nicely spicy, and snapper special (small) was every fresh and tasty and much more than I could handle.

Very friendly staff, polite and friendly, but not in your face if you know what I mean. Really enjoyed it. I will be back, if I get to be in tx again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigelandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Drive by it everyday, who knew a great place to eat!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have driven by this place a million times. It is on my commute to work. When going on a business lunch and someone sugested it, I thought great a tacky dive. I was shocked. Typical restaurant ambiance, fantastic huge menu and the food was delicious! Hope to go back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice seafood restaurant”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice seafood restaurant (shrimp, crawfish, etc.) at a reasonable cost: $30 with beer and tips. Decoration ok, nice waiter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
customer99
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

First time ever there and on a Friday night and was able to get in very easily. The food is great and the small size is very BIG. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. I had the Pasta Apache without Chicken and it was fantastic. This is one of the first times I can recall actually seeing the crabmeat on a dish made with shrimp as well (usually you only see the shrimp). The food came out very hot and if I had one complaint is was that my stomach wasn't big enough. I certainly want to go back an try something else!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank customer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second time lucky”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I recently received a gift card for this restaurant. We tried it on a Sunday but there was a twenty minute wait, so we left. It did however create the impression that this is a popular restaurant and some anticipation.
On Friday, we decided to try it again and we easily go a table around two. We had a cup of gumbo, boudin link, shrimp creole and the stuffed mushrooms. All were fine but the boudin was a little bland for my taste. I must say that I travel to Louisiana regularly and the boudin at Don's or Best Stop are both better in my opinion. The server never asked whether I wanted plain or spicy, so maybe there is only one option. I did not ask either, so I am partially to blame. The portion was adequate and enough as an appetizer.
My wife had the stuffed mushrooms for an appetizer and it was very tasty. Normally, stuffed mushrooms can be soggy but these were not and the flesh of the mushrooms were a good balance between tasty and firm.
I had the cup of gumbo and it was HUGE. I loved the texture and the taste. I asked for the rice on the side and that portion was big as well. There is a lot of seafood in the gumbo and every spoon contained at least one shrimp or piece of crab. Great.
The other main course was the shrimp creole and it was spicy and firm as well. The shrimp was cooked just right and although the sauce was hot, it added to the shrimpy taste and did not overpower.
With water, the check came to 39.48 excluding gratuity which is great value for money since we brought enough home for a second meal. Only the stuffed mushrooms did not make it home. They also serve a garlicky cheese bread with the meal that was a good compliment.
The service was fair although my consumption of water was faster than their service :-)
The server was friendly and knowledgeable, he was obviously proud of their food and it showed :-)
All in all, I think that it is a good place to go if you miss Louisiana but you might be a little disappointed in the boudin if you are a Cajun expert (and all Cajuns are :-) )

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou City Seafood & Pasta also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bayou City Seafood & Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing