We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant”

Alexander the Great
Ranked #269 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Went here on a Monday evening so it was not mobbed. A very pleasant place with some authentic Greek dishes. I recommend the goat, beautiful flavour and very tender. Service was old school courteous. Big family party celebrating Grandma's birthday added to the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KokoLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great lunch.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

All the dishes were excellent. Restaurant was quiet so easy to carry on a conversation. Waiter was accommodating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is upscale, yummy Greek food. The menu was interesting. We had the pan fried cheese served with flaming ouzo (don't remember the exact name of the entree). I've never had anything quite like that. It's super salty, but very interesting, and I would order it again. Pita bread is amazing. Feta cheese was good. Dolmas were good. Entrees were good (moussaka). We were very stuffed and very happy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lava_lamp_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Royal Feast”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Being married to a Lebanese, I've had to learn to cook a lot of dishes he likes. Even though my husband brags on my cooking, he always looks forward to eating at Alexander's. We stopped reading the menu because we always go for The Royal Feast and just share everything. So much flavor, seasoned just right, we savor every bite! Exceptionally good food. It's not crowded, the staff are friendly, you're served with style and treated like you're royalty!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Valentines Dinner”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Went for dinner on Valentines Day 2014. It was a very special evening with a very special lady. The food was great, the atmosphere was fantastic, but due to the volume of business the service was a little slow. This is one reason I hate going out on New Years, Christmas, Valentines and every other significant holiday.

I will go again on my next trip to Houston, when its not as busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicthegreek2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander the Great also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Alexander the Great? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing